We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wine Country Accomodation in NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ridge Estate

Blue Ridge Estate
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Ridge Estate
50 O'Dwyers Rd, RD 3, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 hotels in Blenheim
Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Wine Country Accomodation in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We have stayed at Blue Ridge at least 5 separate times. We keep returning because it is a blissful place. Brian and Leslie grow beautiful grapes, their guest rooms are among the vines. The B and B is located among theNZ great vineyards and very near Marlborough's best restaurants. The breakfasts are brilliant, all homegrown foods deliciously prepared. The rooms are beautiful, and Brian knows everything about NZ travel as he was a travel executive before he became a wine grower.
We have travelled extensively in NZ and return each year and we think this is the best B and B in NZ!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hosts Brian and Lesley put themselves out for us and made us feel very welcome. They made great suggestions of where to visit and places to eat and we enjoyed our conversations with them. The room we were in was absolutely fine. I liked he fact there was no TV. Breakfast was also good. The wineries for visiting are all close by. We would definitely come back here. I hope the ducks return! We did have wireless internet which worked very well.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Property is nice but the rooms were not well equiped. Average value for money.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 15 day trip around the South Island New Zealand. We stayed at the Blue Ridge Estates for 1 night on our trip. Overall, this was an excellent stay. We very much enjoyed meeting Brian and Lesley who were warm, inviting, and helpful with recommendations for dinner and winery tours. They have a lovely, cozy home on a vineyard. The room was comfortable and decent size with a great ensuite bathroom. The back patio and vineyard were a perfect setting to relax and have a glass of wine. We stayed at 9 B&Bs in NZ on our whirlwind tour, and this was one of our favorites. The breakfast was delicious! The only drawbacks I can see in comparing this with other properties was their lack of internet access and the fact there were no TVs in the rooms (though this could be considered a bonus!). This was one of the lower cost places we stayed, and definitely the best value for the trip- highly recommend!

  • Liked — hosts, breakfast, location
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

If you are considering visiting the Wine Trail in Marlborough this accommodation is perfect. Excellent location for visiting lots of wineries and the towns of Picton and Blenheim. Wonderful peaceful vineyard, extremely private. Great facilities large bedroom and ensuite bathroom beautifully decorated with private patio area for relaxing. Brian and Lesley were wonderful hosts, gave us lots of tips and information about the area, booked us places to visit and eventold us the best way to travel along the Queen Charlotte Drive to get the best views. Wonderful cooked breakfast every morning and lots of personnel touches.
Brian and Lesley were fabulous company, we arrived as strangers and left as friends.

  • Liked — location, company,
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

Brian and Lesley Avery give you a welcome second to none when you arrive at their beautifully appointed b/b. The house has won the Master Builders' House of the Year Award. The rooms are modern, very clean and well furnished. Lesley is a mine of information and could not be more helpful. Brian can answer all the questions you care to ask about growing vines. He is full of fascintaing stories about his change in life style. Brian even took the trouble to drive us to the local gourmet eating place...Hertzog which does an outstandingly good five course tasting menu and superb wines to match. This too a recommendation from Lesley. Before dinner Lesley directed us to one of the stunning local beaches for one of our best swims in the whole of New Zealand. The difference somebody once said between staying in a hotel and a b/b is that when you leave a b/b you give the people a big hug and kisses...how true. We were so pleased on this second visit that we decided to stay outside of Blenheim in this blissful spot with views across the vineyard to the distant hills with only the sound of the birds

  • Liked — Warm hospitality of the hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Ridge Estate at the end of December 2007, in the Blue Room. Unfortunately we were only able to stay for one night, but really wished we could have stayed longer.

Our hosts, Brian and Lesley, were very welcoming, and Brian was very helpful with tips on places to visit. He also helped arrange delivery and collection of two bikes which we rented to tour the area.

Our room was lovely - comfy bed, lovely bathroom (the outside wall of the shower was made of glass blocks which was really nice), and all very clean. The bedroom had doors opening onto its own terrace and had great views over the garden to the vineyard... heaven!

Breakfast was great, with local seasonal fruit, yoghurts, and lovely cooked food.

The location was great for us - very quiet and in the middle of vineyards. We rented a couple of bikes and managed to visit about 12 wineries in one afternoon... hic! The closest wineries are Hunters, Drylands, and Saint Clair, which are all easy to cycle to - especially as it's very flat. The others are a bit further away, so you need to be reasonably fit if you want to walk or cycle there.

I would highly recommend this place - lovely, comfortable and peaceful, with great hosts.

Thanks Brian and Lesley!

  • Liked — Great hosts, great views of the vineyards, clean and comfortable bedroom.
  • Disliked — we wish we could have stayed for another couple of days!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Ridge Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ridge Estate

Address: 50 O'Dwyers Rd, RD 3, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 hotels in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Estate Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ridge Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Ridge Estate to your Saves list