We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 5 Star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Marlborough

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Marlborough to your Saves list
Chateau Marlborough
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$25.00 F&B VOUCHER
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Blenheim
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not quite 5 Star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very attractive looking hotel, outside very tidy. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy. But in need of a makeover.
Xtractor Fan in bathroom, not working. Get out of shower was like entering a Sauna.
Old fittings in shower, obviously original. Shower was over bath. No handrail at all when exiting bath after having shower. For elderly people this would be quite dangerous.
Little cards all over the place, six in all. Giving instructions of what one can have or do.
Little card in bathroom indicating that if one wishes to have a non slip mat in the bath when having a shower, one has to go reception to get one. Little use if one has slipped over. Should be a non slip mate in the bathroom cupboard for optional use. Leave another little card with information. Holes in the shower over bath wall, looks real scruffy.
All these points were left on an evaluation sheet left in room. This was handed to reception with my name and E-Mail address. I have not had the courtesy of a reply, after seven days.

Room Tip: Check the room out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi Thank you for placing your feedback. Lovely to read that you found the staff were friendly and helpful. With reference to the bathroom we are in the process of upgrading the classic suites which we hope to have finished within the next 12 months. This advice can be found on our website. I totally appreciate all your comments re the bathrooms . We have reflected this in the reduced room rate. We still definately meet the 5 star Criteria with the accommodation services and facilites we offer. If guests require a non slip mat reception/housekeeping would bring this to your room. The lack of promptness in responding to your in house guest survey was a result of myself being on sick leave, I do apologise for this delay Once again thank you for taking the time to place feedback and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Blenheim.
Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    122
    54
    14
    7
See reviews for
33
207
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Average hotel in Blenheim, stayed overnight excellent staff very friendly and helpful. Room was average and very noisy as this was a conjoined room. Was staying alone but could hear the next rooms TV for the whole night. Not very good value for money given was a similar room rate to mid class Auckland hotels, without the facilities.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in a conjoined room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. I was so pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful, I will pass that on. Sorry that you experienced noise from the room next door. It would of been good if you had contacted our night staff so that they could of rectified this at the time. If you wish to discuss further please contact me on 0800 75 22 75 Thanks again.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a short stop at this hotel. It was nice and tidy. The bathrooms were very small and this was disappointing - I'm a girl and need space, the bedroom however was a nice size and very comfortable. We enjoyed a casual dinner in the bar area of the restaurant and breakfast the next morning was great. Just a few things let this place down, the restaurant staff were not so helpful in the beginning, but did improve over the evening and the check in reception chap was a little rude. However that being said we would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place feedback. So pelased to read that you would stay with us again, but on this occassion you didnt find the staff met our standards. I have spoken to the staff concerned. We are in the process of upgrading the bathrooms in our Classic Suites . Once again thank you and look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Marlborough.
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

the staff were very friendly, the rooms
very clean nothing to complain! the price was okay as well! located in the centre of blenheim, the internet wasn't the fastest! the inside design of the hotel was nice, old and new combined! we would come back again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank for your wonderful feedback. So pleased the Hotel meet your expectations and you found the staff friendly. We look forward to seeing you back at the Chateau Marlborough on your next visit to Marlborough.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

As part of our honeymoon trip, we drove to Blenheim to stay in Marlborough for a few days. After some online research, we settled on this place based on reviews and the pictures. It looked like a pretty classy place relative to the other places in Blenheim (which mostly appeared to be motels and motor lodges) and seemed centrally located.

Now, Chateau Marlborough is not bad at all - the staff are extremely friendly and helpful; the rooms are generally clean and fairly spacious; it was not very noisy and it was close to "town". However, notwithstanding how the pictures on tripadvisor and its website look, the place really is just another motor lodge / motel with a fancy name - nestled between a row of others and even with that "(no) vacancy" sign out front. Which is all fine and I am not opposed to it but it was not what we were looking for for our honeymoon of course. And, while generally satisfactory, I would say this is basically a standard 3-star motel/hotel. And, even though we had booked for two nights, because of this, we decided to cut our stay short and find another place - a B&B - which we did. The staff however, were very nice about this and I really have nothing else negative to say about the place. But I would just note to travelers not to be fooled into thinking this place is anything it is not.

Also - across the street from the hotel is a church or something with a loud bell that rings every hour or 15 min or something depending on the time. It woke me up early.

On a side note, I would add that one of errors that led us to selecting this place was that we wanted a place that was 'close to town'. For first time visitors to Blenheim, there is absolutely no reason to be in "town". Town itself is tiny and has very little and the entire region is so compact, it is about ten minutes between wineries, town and the airport and back again. You will be driving everywhere anyway, and I'd much rather be nestled at a lovely B&B among wineries or at one of the pleasant farms under the stars than in some tiny town (where we also happened to be on the receiving end of some quite vitriolic racial slurs - which left a terrible feeling about the whole town). So, i would say that it's location is convenient if for some reason you need to be in Blenheim, but for any other reason, it is not.

Bottom line: fine and comfortable if you are looking for a nice motel in Blenheim for whatever reason, but if you are visiting wineries and touring the surrounding area, would suggest to look for a great B&B or other place not necessarily in Blenheim. We stayed at one in Renwick after leaving Chateau and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that we didnt meet your expecations. The hotel is rated by our Qualmark grading system and we comfortably meet the required standards for a hotel. The clock tower does disturb some of our guests. With reference to the racial slurs very sorry that you had to experience that. Pleased you enjoyed your time out in the wine region it is a wonderful place to be and found the staff at the Chateau Marlborough to be friendly and helpful.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It is an older hotel but has been restored and is very comfortable and quiet. We stayed for one night and found the room to be spacious, and the king sized bed was very comfortable and there was an extensive pillow menu to suit all travellers. The location of the complex is very central, with a short drive to wineries and a stroll to supermarket and restaurants. The reception staff were very friendly and were happy to answer any questions about the region. There is lots of free parking, complimentary wifi and a free laundry (including dryers) for the use of guests. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place feedback after your stay at Chateau Marlborough. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the beds and pillow menu on offer. The team here at the Chateau Marlborough pride themselves on a high standard of customer service and was great to hear that they achieved this on this occassion. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Marlborough.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Chateau Marlborough, our second visit to Blenheim and the hotel. The Chateau Marlborough is generally of a high standard with comfortable beds and a pillow menu to suit even the fussiest traveller. I booked a deluxe suite but on arrival upgraded to an executive suite as I felt the standard of the deluxe suite wasn't quite what I expected, I notice that previous reviews state that the deluxe rooms are being upgraded. We were extremely happy with the executive suite and will stay here again next time we are in Blenheim. The hotel prides itself as being a green eco hotel but they need to be a little careful that their green credentials don't lower the experience for the visitor. They have fluorescent bulbs in their down lights which are too long and protrude from the down light which feels like they are trying to do luxury on the cheap. Next to the toilet they put a spare toilet roll in a plant pot which would be better just placed on the basin without the plant pot. Better quality instant coffee would be appreciated also. They have boutique toiletries in the shower which is a nice touch and we found the staff very friendly and happy to assist with any requests. We ate breakfast in the restaurant on one morning but would rather have had a good quality basic breakfast rather than the fancy one which we thought was of a poor standard.

Room Tip: A first floor room is a better choice as there were no net curtains on the lower level meaning you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Pleased to hear you would stay with us next time you visit Blenheim. We do take sustanablitiy here very seriously , however appreciate that these lights may seem we are trying to do it cheaply , we are looking into getting an eco friendly bulb that sits within the recess. We do have Moccona coffee in those suites, however on this occassion this wasnt the case and I have spoken to the housekeeping team re this. I also have passed on your comments to our head chef re breakfast. Once again thank you for taking the time to place feedback and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
KInd Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests luxury accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town centre. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Marlborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.