We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Blenheim!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Marlborough

Save Saved
You added Chateau Marlborough to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 hotels in Blenheim
New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Blenheim!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Similar experience to most other reviewers, excellent hotel, shame about the bathroom! I paid NZ $220 (110 GBP) for 1 night in a standard room which actually turned out to be a suite so was very pleased about that. Very dated bathroom (clean though!), good little kitchenette (fridge, 2 hotplates, microwave, crockery etc) living room with dining table, chairs, sofas, tv with basic channels, sky movies and a sky sport channel. Separate bedroom with large king size bed and wardrobe. Pillows were a bit hard. Room looked out over the lovely pool area. We didn't eat in the restaurant as expensive (NZ$29-39 for a main meal) and breakfast didn't start til 7am. You could get a breakfast box for $12.50 if you had an early start but I don't know what this consisted of. Friendly staff. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough. All our bathrooms are in the process of being renovated at the moment and I am sure you will appreciate the changes if you have a chance to stay with us in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we do appreciate receiving it.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    88
    40
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
154
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had a lovely stay at Chateau Marlborough. The ladies at the front desk are delightful and very helpful - fantastic service! The hotel is centrally located and close to everything. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough. We appreciate receiving guest feedback and are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and found everything met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Island
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Chateau Marlborough is in a superb location, close to the heart of Blenheim but off the busiest main road. Everything in the town is in easy walking distance with a big supermarket barely 100 metres away. We only had a basic room but there were much more spacious and suites available if you were wanting more space. However, there was plenty in our room, with chairs and a table and small kitchenette area. The room was especially quiet with an efficient and quiet air conditioner, a must during the summer months. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to say hello or can we help. The rooms were modernised although the bathroom had been forgotten about, looking very tired and dated. The shower is over the bath with no non-slip mat in the room. I believe you can request one but shouldn't have too. I almost slipped once myself. Still that was the only negative we found. The pool area was adequate although a few more loungers would be helpful, with only 4 available.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get a room close to the gym. There are 4 suites close by, two on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough, and it is pleasing to know that you enjoyed it. All the bathrooms are in the process of being renovated at the moment and I am sure you will appreciate the changes if you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 6 nights over christmas. The hotel is very central for the town. The biulding is lovely and our room was great with a great big corner window. Therooms are all well equipped and a good size. The design of the bathroom/toilet is a bit odd with too many doors ( you,ll have to see it). We dined at the resturant once(we were visiting family) and the food was excellent and the service very good, and well priced, in a fine modern setting. All the staff were very friendly and helpfull. The pool area on christmas day was a real bonus.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough and it is great to know that you enjoyed your Christmas break away with us and that everything met your expectations. We do appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk vulcan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed for a night and really loved it. the room was very comfortable with a good bed. Free laundry and WiFi much appreciated. disabled access room was upstairs but not a problem as there was a lift. Food was good in the restaurant byt as others have said service was a little slow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough. It is always good to hear how our guests find their experience and it is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay. Again, thank you for providing your feedback.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in a Grande Suite located upstairs on the first floor as I had looked at their website and was under the assumption that the Suites where the newer rooms in this hotel and the photos on their website look exactly like the room. The room and bathroom were lovely, great that we had air con while we were there because it was quite hot. When they turned our beds down on the first night they had little truffles next to the bed which was a nice touch. My husband was happy with the Sky TV in the evenings, lots of movies to choose from and it was great to have a small kitchen for breakfast. You are based very centrally to the rest of the town, although you do need a car to get to the wineries.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of Chateau Marlborough and your positive feedback. We do appreciate receiving comments from our guests and are really pleasesd that your stay met your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Everything is very promising, the staff were polite and the room comfortable. My room was a little odd. The bedroom area was quite modern but the bathroom dark and old. When i bumped into another couple who had a suite they thought my room probably hadn't been updated yet. I'd stay here again if i got as good a rate as I did this time. I did think I'd be kept awake by the church bell across the street but i didn't. There's not a lot of privacy unless you close the curtains due to the ceiling-floor windows so you end up in darkness most of the time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay, it is always appreciated. We are currently in the process of upgrading the bathrooms in the Deluxe Studio Suites and I am sure the next time you stay, you will find this has been completed! Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests luxury accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town centre. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Marlborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.