We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Marlborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Marlborough to your Saves list
Chateau Marlborough
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Blenheim
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is the place to stay,ten minutes from the airport, within walking distant to Blenheim shopping centre, rooms are very clean and tidy, wonderful staff that are very helpful and friendly, truely a very luxurious place to stay would recommend to others. The "Quench Bar/Resturant" was excellent and the service was quick,
The pool looked very inviting but was too busy to relax by the pool. plenty of car parks available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Many thanks for posting your feedback regarding your stay at Chateau Marlborough. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel facilities and the standard of service of our staff - which we pride ourselves upon - met your expectations. We appreciate receiving guest feedback and look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    98
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
172
24
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is of very good quality for the price. Rooms are modern, include a self contained kitchen area and modern new bathrooms. Great inclusions such as off street parking, free guest laundry and limited but free Internet access. If you are looking to stay in central Blenheim this is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us at Chateau Marlborough; we do appreciate receiving your comments. It is great to know that you found the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is centrally located within Blenheim as well as for wine touring. Superb accommodation , with lots of extras,they even left a "Kiwi" on our bed for "us" to take home! A cute touch I have never experienced before. We really appreciated the laundry room for us to use free of charge as well.
The staff were all friendly & helpful. We also enjoyed a very good meal in the restaurant .
The only negative was having to pay for wifi use once again in N.Z. although they did have a small amount available free.

Room Tip: We had room 105 or 106 . A huge corner room with a sitting area as well as kitchenette. It was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and ee are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Chateau Marlborough as well as your visit to the region. Your kiwi will remind you of your holiday! Thank you again for your comments, we do appreciate receiving guest feedback.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I recently won an Interislander Escape and part of the prize was 2 nights accommodation at the Chateau Marlbortough. We were blown away by the service, cleanliness, location and the helpful friendly staff.
The "Quench" bar, restaurant, food and service are excellent.
Absolutely luxurious accommodation! Good on you Chateau Blenheim. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had room 118! Luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, we always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests. It is great to know that you enjoyed your time with us and that the things we constantly strive to achieve and maintain for our guests were evident and appreciated. I do hope we will have the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards
Lylney McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed two nights recently and really enjoyed the rooms. I believe that the hotel may be getting renovated and the rooms are very nicely presented and large. The bathrooms are probably yet to be developed, but when done so the entire hotel will look fantastic. I would recommend to anyone to stay at this hotel, the staff are friendly and they make a mean omelet for breakfast! Its close to the centre of town and we would stay again if back in Blenheim. Thanks.

Room Tip: Get the omelet when ordering breakfast - its the yummiest we had eaten!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback , we do appreciate receiving guest comments, and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly the omlette! We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed here in Jan 2012 and I agree with others it looks stunning in the pictures, I was shown the room and they told me it was normally $300 but I could have it for a lesser sum.As i was looking to get changed some work men were working right outside my room all afternoon.The room was small.....1st on the right on the ground floor, the pool was green and this was the middle of summer and the room was really hot and had no air conditioning but a noisey fan connected to a wall socket.I discussed this with reception and got shifted to a lovely room a few floors up looking out on to some gardens, but my disappointment came with telling me I was getting a room at half price...I can't imagine that the first room was anything near worth $300 odd dollars and if the facilities...i.e the pool is unusable then perhaps say this at check in and also advise that the is no air-conditioning as this is quite a major in summer and with men outside your window one could not sit around with fewer clothes on or clearly hop in the green pool. : (.So not really rated as the stars suggest however the receptionist the following morning was really lovely about my problems and couldn't have been more professional understanding.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that airconditioning was an issue and a major upgrade programme has been undertaken to install this in all rooms. Since January almost all the airconditioning work has been completed and the bathrooms are also in the process of being upgraded. We do hope that you will have the opportunity to enjoy these facilities in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just stayed 2 nights at the Chateau Marlborough before and after a half marathon in Blenheim. Could not have asked for a more comfortable room for this time. The kitchenette in the room made making meals around a race easy as. A nice highlight was the 'pillow menu' offered so we could select more specific pillows as suited to our needs. The hotel gym was very clean and new. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and quality of this hotel and it definitely exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback - we do appreciate receiving comments from our guests and it isparticularly pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the level of service and attitude of our staff to be of a high standard.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Blenheim.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#8 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests luxury accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town centre. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Marlborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.