We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allan Scott Family Winemakers

Allan Scott Family Winemakers
Jacksons Road, Blenheim RD3 , New Zealand
+64 3 572 9054
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 41 Activities in Blenheim
Type: Food & Drink
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Good selection of wines reasonably priced and very helpful staff. Make sure you get paperwork to ship wines back to Aus or elsewhere...that way you can buy odd bottles and have them consolidated by the various wineries for a $50 fee per case.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Setting Meals a little small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We went here for lunch with the family. The food was fantastic but just thought the meals were a little small...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Came here for lunch with friends. Waited 5 minutes to be seated with no recognition and then half an hour for drinks after we had to find someone to serve us. Meals were lovely. Waited another half an hour for our dessert order to be taken and then just about left waiting another 20-30 minutes for coffee despite being ordered at time of desserts. Shame about service as meals etc were very good. Service (when we got it) was very pleasant though.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Do the vineyard tour - a real highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We loved our time at Allan Scott's. We'd researched beforehand and booked a tour of the vineyard. This was given by Matt and was excellent. He was really enthusiastic and gave us a great tour. We even got to ride on one of the machines as it was pruning the vines. We tasted wine straight from the barrels, and he taught us a huge amount about how they rate wines and which years were good.
We then had lunch at the restaurant, which was delicious. I had the salmon, which was really fresh and melt in the mouth!
Overall, a real highlight.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly but not flash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Service started fantastic but our glasses sat empty for ages, we would have drank a lot more if they returned and asked. Food was beautiful but tiny portions for the price, a lovely place tho:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allan Scott Family Winemakers also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Rapaura, Blenheim
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Allan Scott Family Winemakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allan Scott Family Winemakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.