We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uno Piu Homestead

Uno Piu Homestead
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uno Piu Homestead
Save Saved
You added Uno Piu Homestead to your Saves list
75 Murphy's Road, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 30 hotels in Blenheim
Abu Dhabi
1 review
“What a Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Ah, you couldn't find a nicer couple than Gino and Heather. He's a transplant from Italy and she's a Kiwi. They grow just about everything we ate. Gino Rocco has the biggest heart and the sweetest disposition. Both he and Heather were totally engaged in making sure we were happy. The room, Tuscano, was a dream with a small side tea room overlooking the lovely pool and garden. We sampled their figs, olives and huge lemons from their gardens. I never ate so much delicious food at one sitting. My daughter and I enjoyed the oversized chess set in the tree filled yard and rose garden. We also loved the cute border collies and sheep on their land. When we left we felt we had made friends for life. I highly recommend Uno Piu.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

My wife and I spent four days at Uno Piu in the middle of a trip to New Zealand during which we stayed at accommodation ranging from the most expensive lodges to one night B&Bs. Uno Piu was definitely among the most relaxing. We stayed in the cottage in the grounds and felt completely at home. The enormous breakfasts include (typically) waffles or crepes, fruit and a huge platter of cooked meats, cheeses and smoked salmon as well as fruit juices etc. Tea and coffee is available from the small kitchen in the cottage.
We kept the platter in the fridge until the evening and barbecued amazingly cheap meat available from local supermarkets (fillet steak is half the price of the UK) which provided a welcome break from elaborate four course meals.

Super place, well worth a detour!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

We stayed in a lot of very nice BnB during our two weeks in NZ, but this placed topped them all. The room and breakfast were just magnificent, add to that two hosts that make you feel like your visiting your favourite uncle and aunt. I would recommend this to anyone, the only "but" is that it is quite expensive.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2005

Uno Piu, Blenheim, New Zealand
Date: Nov. 21, 2005
Reviewer: A couple from the Central Coast of California, USA
fThis is probably the finest B&B we have ever stayed in. The gardens are beautiful; the breakfasts are huge and scrumptious. We stayed with our daughter & son-in-law in the 2 bedroom mud-brick cottage and couldn't have been happier. Geno, the host, not only brings breakfast to the cottage each morning, but he brings enough food for 2 meals! He also has a huge outdoor chess set and a petanque court. Although this place is costly, it is worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

Uno Piu is rated Five Stars, and fully deserves it. It's set in lovely gardens on the outskirts of Blenheim, handy to wine country and Picton in the Marlborough Sounds where you get the ferry between New Zealand's South and North Island.

We stayed two nights, the first in a generous room in the beautiful homestead, the second in their self contained cottage. Both were very good indeed, but if you can get the cottage (a bit more expensive) it's worth it. We enjoyed sitting out on its garden terrace having a drink in the evening.

We enjoy staying in B&Bs partly because of the people you meet, and Uno Piu's hosts, Heather and Gino are friendly generous people. Gino is a fine Italian chef, from a family of fishermen. If you're there on a night Gino is cooking, it's a "don't miss" evening.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uno Piu Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uno Piu Homestead

Address: 75 Murphy's Road, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 hotels in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Uno Piu Homestead Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uno Piu Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.