We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Full Immersion Into Kiwi Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonehaven Homestay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stonehaven Homestay to your Saves list
Stonehaven Homestay
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   414 Rapaura Rd, RD 3, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 Blenheim B&B and Inns
United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Full Immersion Into Kiwi Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

A superb B&B – perhaps the finest I’ve enjoyed anywhere across my five continents of travels.

Stayed two nights in early May while touring the Marlborough wine route. Perfectly situated nearby Marlborough’s finest vineyards and beautifully located within a vineyard of its own.

Owners John and Paulette Hansen were exceptionally warm and I instantly felt like long lost family member. Not merely great hosts, John and Paulette quickly proved to be quite the gourmets. Paulette’s three-course dinners, paired with wines from John’s collection, were most excellent and well worth the nominal additional cost. The included full breakfast was both delicious and filling. It should also be noted that most of the produce served was home grown!

My twin bedroom with downstairs private bath was comfortable and I was welcomed to relax throughout their gorgeous home. Internet and laundry facilities were made available for my use. Perhaps the highlight of my stay, though, was leaving the B&B and wandering throughout the beautiful garden and vineyard.

I cannot more highly recommend this homestay accommodation. Staying at Stonehaven was far more than just a stay – it was a full immersion into Kiwi hospitality.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
104
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

From Larry and Sue Ricketts,Denver, Colorado, USA

We have just returned from New Zealand and we must say that one of the highlights of our trip was a two-night homestay at Stonehaven! John and Paulette are terrific hosts, and their home is magnificent, the gardens beautiful, and the food and friendliness beyond compare. We did our laundry and used their computer freely, which was an added bonus. Vineyards surround the property, which is absolutely gorgeous. Everything is impeccable, from the gardens to the bedrooms. Every traveler should take advantage of this gem!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

A great B&B- John and Paulette made us feel right at home. The accommodation is of excellent quality, and is in a perfect location amongst the vineyards and within walking/cycling distance to wineries and restaurants. Breakfast and afternoon tea was fantastic, and the owners provided helpful recommendations for dinner. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in Marlborough

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2007

Having just returned from spending 5 nights at this little slice of Kiwi Heaven, we cannot recommend it highly enough, if you are visiting the lovely little town of Blenheim, in the Marlborough region of the South Island.

From it's stunning, yet secluded, location within the vineyards, to it's tropical pool and gardens, or it's fabulous guest bedrooms with every home comfort catered for, this is truly an affordable little gem of a place.

Owners, the lovely and wonderful, John and Paulette Hansen are on hand to welcome you like an old friend into their stunning home.

John and Paulette are keen to ensure that your stay is nothing short of perfect and are on hand, if required, to offer advice on local excursions and activities or to point you in the direction of superb local wineries or resaturants. Although, it should be noted that Paulette is a terrific cook and will happily prepare you a three course evening meal from a superb menu with produce either home grown or locally sourced. John is also happy to uncork you a local vintage from his well stocked cellar, either to sip by the delightful, private pool or to accompany your delicious evening meal.

Exploring the local region is easy from this haven of tranquillity and it would be such a pity not to spend more than a few days at this gem of a homestay at the top of the South Island.

Do yourself a favour, go visit and go now...promise, you will not regert it-ENJOY!

  • Liked — clean, comfortable and welcoming with great hosts and terrific food and location
  • Disliked — nothing, it was absolutely perfect
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2006

This homestay is a real gem. It combines the comforts of a small hotel, with the warmth and hospitality of two outgoing, helpful homeowner-hosts, John and Paulette. Our room was well appointed, with a large comfortable bed, large modern bathroom (even had a heated tile floor) and second-floor views overlooking a vineyard. It also included complementary sherry and port. The property is located in the heart of the Blenheim wine country (in fact it is in the middle of a vineyard), and is a easy drive or bike ride to some of the best wineries in the region. The property is immaculate and exceptionally well cared for, with flowers everywhere. The breakfasts are outstanding, and include homemade muffins, eggs to order and a selection of fresh fruits and cerals. Don't miss this place, if you are looking for accommodations in the area!

  • Liked — Comfort, ease and convenience
  • Disliked — No wireless internet accesss
  • Tips/Secrets — This is a homestay, where you are in and have access to the entire home and its hosts
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauletteMarlborough, Owner/host at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review, February 19, 2008
Thank you, Traveleta, for your suggestion with regard to internet access for guests. GOOD NEWS! Stonehaven Vineyard Homestay now has wireless internet connection for guests' use. We appreciate your input, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, WA, US
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2006

We stayed at Stonehaven for the last two nights of a month-long trip and had a marvelous time. The proprietors, John and Paulette, are just terrific and make their home yours. The location is really convenient to the Blenheim wineries, and the rooms have beautiful views over the vineyards that surround Stonehaven. For an additional amount, dinner can be purchased, and it is well-worth it! I would put Paulette's cooking among the very best chefs in New Zealand!
Like any good proprietors, John and Paulette will give you as much info and time as you want, or none at all. We really enjoyed everything about our stay at Stonehaven.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2006

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in January 2006, and were extremely satisfied. The vineyard location (vineyard and mountain views)is beautiful, and the room and bath were very comfortable. The innkeepers, John & Paulette were very inviting, friendly (they sit down to breakfast with you)and informative about NZ. Breakfast was ample and outstanding. We have probably stayed at 50 B&Bs, mostly in the USA, and this is definitely in the top 5, largely because John & Paulette are such caring hosts. The website photos of this B&B were very appealing, but the reality is even better.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonehaven Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Homestay

Address: 414 Rapaura Rd, RD 3, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stonehaven Homestay 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 STAR QUALMARK GUEST & HOSTED AND ENVIRO SILVER AWARD. Stonehaven Homestay is situated amongst 20 acres of Sauvignon Blanc vines in the heart of sunny Marlborough's wine country, within easy walking or cycling distance of our most renowned wineries. Experience genuine, generous 'kiwi' hospitality - your comfort and a relaxing stay are our top priorities. The two Guest Rooms (King NZ$288 per night & Queen NZ$262 per night have exquisite vineyard & mountain views). Each room has a spacious en-suite bathroom with all the amenities you could wish for including underfloor heating, heated towel rail, bathrobes & toiletries. Rooms have bar fridges with complimentary goodies, Tea & Coffee making facilities with fresh home-baking, complimentary Port and Sherry, TV, electric blankets etc.Our delicious 'White Linen' Breakfast is a Stonehaven specialty and features home-grown & local produce - guaranteed to set you up for the day. Three course evening dining is available by arrangement. Book-A-Bike bicycle and scooter hire is based at Stonehaven. Have a fun day cycling around the wineries or take a scooter for a sight-seeing tour of the district for a taste of what Marlborough has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stonehaven Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehaven Homestay Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonehaven Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.