We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6-star Bed & Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonehaven Homestay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stonehaven Homestay to your Saves list
Stonehaven Homestay
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   414 Rapaura Rd, RD 3, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“6-star Bed & Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Our group of 6 friends stayed at Stonehaven for one night in late Nov and the experience was unforgettable! We were treated to 6-star hospitality by John and Paulette who shared with us their beautiful home, delicious cooking, and not to mention their lovingly-prepared bedrooms. Attention was given to even the smallest details. In the windy night amidst the vineyards, we had a good time chatting with them over wine. After we returned to our rooms, we were pleasantly surprised to find champagne truffles left on our pillows! If you're stopping over at Malborough, this is one B&B you should not miss. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
104
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

My parents, partner and I stayed with Paulette and John this past week and I must say that I created an account on trip advisor just to be able to write this review. It was a highlight to our trip! Paulette and John are both very modest... they run the homestay because they enjoy it and it really shows. The house is in the most beautiful location nestled between wine vines. It is beautifully kept and the grounds are just amazing. They offer a range of services that they do not heavily advertise becuase they dont want guests to feel pressured, such as bike rentals, they can organize wine tours and you can even have a home cooked meal for dinner! When we arrived Paulette welcomed us with tea and home made cookies. The cookies were so amazing that we asked to have dinner with her and John. She made the most wonderful Tomato soup, rack of lamb and pavlova for desert. I can honestly say it has been one of the best meals in NZ! John helped us pick out a few bottles of wine from his wine collection. In between cooking and us having dinner, Paullette even managed to sneak up stairs and turn down our beds, adorning each with a chocolate! Breakfast was lovely with a home cooked hot meal included with the price of our stay. Great value for money! I cannot say enough wonderful things about Stonehaven, Paulette and John. If you are ever going to be in that area do go without staying at Stonehaven!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

This review is much overdue, but we feel compelled to post the most favorable review as Paulette and John provided us with the best B&B experience we have ever had. The locfation is sublime - surrounded by vineyards which are easily reached via car or bicycle (which can be rented from P&J). We did have a suburb home-cooked meal per our request for Green-Lipped Mussels and Rack of NZ Lamb plus a stupendous selection of wines from their cellar. We strongly suggest that anyone looking for a Marlborough location with the most welcoming hosts that we have ever come across in our travels. I would put Paulette's concierge-type service up against any 5-star hotel - she was able to find unique experiences for our journey (example: finding us an artist who specializes in NZ bone-carving, providing a memorable souvenir gift to bring home).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx London
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

On arrival here we were warmly welcomed by our hosts Paulette and John who showed us to our room with a view then made us welcome with tea and homemade cookies (to die for!) Our room had a balcony looking out over the mountains and vineyards and was one of the very best places we stayed whilst in NZ. Everything you could need was in our room including decanters of port and sherry along with tea,coffee and the cookies. The grounds were beautiful there was a pool but too early in season to use it!
Breakfast was served in a separate breakfast room and everyone ate together. Cooked breakfast was individually prepared according to your tastes. Freshly squeezed orange juice (from their own orange trees) and freshly baked muffins added to this delicious breakfast. John has an enormous store of stories to tell and once he starts it's difficult to stop him and get away for the day! Do have one meal whilst there which you choose 24 hrs in advance cooked to perfection by Paulette. We had venison and it was just amazing. You go down into their cellar and choose your wine with his guidance. Then you have a wonderful evening with them eating and drinking. To finish he wanted us to try his "chocolate" port !! Be ware !!! They are great hosts and really enjoy having people to stay nothing is too much trouble for them Internet access is there for guests to use for free as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Thank you - we were very impressed. John and Paulette both made us feel very welcome and gave us excellent advice. The room was clean and comfortable (with an attention for detail); breakfast was great. It's a pity we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed here for a few nights on our honeymoon and it was my husband's favourite place of the trip. Paulette and John 's hospitality was outstanding and John was very knowledgeable about wine, which vineyards to visit, etc. They both had so many great recommendations for the rest of our trip also. The house is quite large, so you don't feel that you are in the way of the hosts in the slightest. The room is very comfortable with a great view over the vineyards. Also, the breakfast was amazing!! Homemade jams, muffins, juices, plus a hot breakfast. Paulette is an excellent cook.

There are several excellent restaurants located at wineries nearby.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed at Paulette and John's after reading the reviews on trip advisor and we couldn't agree more that this was a fantastic place to stay. Set in the middle of a vineyard in the heart of Marlborough - the perfect place to go wine tasting from. Paulette and John were so welcoming and knowledgable about the area - definately go to the avaition museum!
We stayed in for dinner one night which was amazing - Paulette is a brilliant cook. And John chose the wine from his cellar - excellent choices.
Would definately recommend to anyone going to Marlborough!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonehaven Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Homestay

Address: 414 Rapaura Rd, RD 3, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stonehaven Homestay 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 STAR QUALMARK GUEST & HOSTED AND ENVIRO SILVER AWARD. Stonehaven Homestay is situated amongst 20 acres of Sauvignon Blanc vines in the heart of sunny Marlborough's wine country, within easy walking or cycling distance of our most renowned wineries. Experience genuine, generous 'kiwi' hospitality - your comfort and a relaxing stay are our top priorities. The two Guest Rooms (King NZ$288 per night & Queen NZ$262 per night have exquisite vineyard & mountain views). Each room has a spacious en-suite bathroom with all the amenities you could wish for including underfloor heating, heated towel rail, bathrobes & toiletries. Rooms have bar fridges with complimentary goodies, Tea & Coffee making facilities with fresh home-baking, complimentary Port and Sherry, TV, electric blankets etc.Our delicious 'White Linen' Breakfast is a Stonehaven specialty and features home-grown & local produce - guaranteed to set you up for the day. Three course evening dining is available by arrangement. Book-A-Bike bicycle and scooter hire is based at Stonehaven. Have a fun day cycling around the wineries or take a scooter for a sight-seeing tour of the district for a taste of what Marlborough has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stonehaven Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehaven Homestay Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonehaven Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.