We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonehaven Homestay

Save Saved
You added Stonehaven Homestay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonehaven Homestay
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   414 Rapaura Rd, RD 3, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 45 Blenheim B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed at Paulette and John's after reading the reviews on trip advisor and we couldn't agree more that this was a fantastic place to stay. Set in the middle of a vineyard in the heart of Marlborough - the perfect place to go wine tasting from. Paulette and John were so welcoming and knowledgable about the area - definately go to the avaition museum!
We stayed in for dinner one night which was amazing - Paulette is a brilliant cook. And John chose the wine from his cellar - excellent choices.
Would definately recommend to anyone going to Marlborough!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
99
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

I absolutely loved, loved, loved staying with Paulette and John. They are magnificent hosts and Paulette is a FABULOUS cook. This was truly a highlight of my excursion in NZ. The property is set in a vineyard amongst the grapes and piece and quiet. I stayed in the room with the queen bed which had a beautiful and spacious en suite bathroom. There isn’t one thing that I can think of that wasn’t remarkable. Also, for what you get the price is VERY reasonable. They are extremely knowledgeable about NZ and were able to provide me with some very good advice! Also, if you bring your own computer they have free wi-fi for guest and if you didn't they have a computer for guests to use.

I will go back on my next trip to NZ!! I wish I would have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

John and Paulette must be the most knowledgable people around Blenheim, they help with advice as to where to eat, the best wine tasting oppertunities, recipes, where to hunt, fish and to enjoy the outdoor life which is New Zealand. Their openess and the way one is welcomed into their family for the duration of your stay is exemplary. John's wine cellar compliments Paulette's dinners and the conversation flows.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Lovely home in great location, in the middle of a vineyard. Alfresco breakfast was excellent and evening meal with hosts and other guests was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Service was great, with hosts happy to provide transport to/from wine tasting at other vineyards.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed at Stonehaven for one night. The location is beautiful, set in the middle of vineyards and with a garden maintained by John around the house. The location seemed to be quite convenient for vineyard visiting as well, halfway between Blenheim and Renwick.

The house is pretty new and quite well-maintained. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, and the bathrooms are nice and modern. The rest of the house (living room, kitchen, pool, etc.) are also available for use.

Paulette and John take the word "homestay" seriously, are very welcoming and friendly and always available for conversation. They seem to try very hard to ensure that the recommendations they offer are good value and quality. Paulette and John join you for breakfast, and dinner is available with previous scheduling. The breakfast we had was wonderful with the usual selection of cereals and yogurts, a cooked breakfast offering, gorgeous strawberries, and the most amazing blueberry muffins.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

All the superlatives posted here about Stonehaven Homestay proved to be true when we stayed for two days.....in addition, I must emphasise what good fun John and Paulette are and what a laugh we all had despite the rain! Cloudy Bay certainly lived up to its name!
I would strongly recommend eating dinner with them for a great evening.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

This is by far the most superb homestay I have stayed at in New Zealand. John and Paulette really take care of your every need from afternoon tea to laundry. Paulette just might be the best chef in New Zealand as the meals were perfect. The berry muffins that are served with fresh eggs and bacon and fresh-squeezed juice from fruit grown in the garden for breakfast are incomparable. Dinner consists of freshly caught fish flown in the same day and reduction sauces that include saffron and lemon. Non seafood options are also available. The room is turned down everyday and there is a strong internet connection throughout the house. There is a pool if you decided to take a dip on a warm summer day. You can even rent bikes for 30 NZD a day and tour the wineries without having to drive your car. The Stonehaven location is right in the middle of all the wineries. All in all the perfect stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing, though if you don't like to interact with people don't stay here.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stonehaven Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Homestay

Address: 414 Rapaura Rd, RD 3, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stonehaven Homestay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 STAR QUALMARK GUEST & HOSTED AND ENVIRO SILVER AWARD. Stonehaven Homestay is situated amongst 20 acres of Sauvignon Blanc vines in the heart of sunny Marlborough's wine country, within easy walking or cycling distance of our most renowned wineries. Experience genuine, generous 'kiwi' hospitality - your comfort and a relaxing stay are our top priorities. The two Guest Rooms (King NZ$288 per night & Queen NZ$262 per night have exquisite vineyard & mountain views). Each room has a spacious en-suite bathroom with all the amenities you could wish for including underfloor heating, heated towel rail, bathrobes & toiletries. Rooms have bar fridges with complimentary goodies, Tea & Coffee making facilities with fresh home-baking, complimentary Port and Sherry, TV, electric blankets etc.Our delicious 'White Linen' Breakfast is a Stonehaven specialty and features home-grown & local produce - guaranteed to set you up for the day. Three course evening dining is available by arrangement. Book-A-Bike bicycle and scooter hire is based at Stonehaven. Have a fun day cycling around the wineries or take a scooter for a sight-seeing tour of the district for a taste of what Marlborough has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Stonehaven Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehaven Homestay Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonehaven Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.