We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in the heart of the vineyards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonehaven Homestay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stonehaven Homestay to your Saves list
Stonehaven Homestay
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   414 Rapaura Rd, RD 3, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
delaware
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Home in the heart of the vineyards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a perfect place to stay as you tour the Marlborough wineries! The lovely home of Paulette and John is surrounded by vineyards and beautifully landscaped gardens with the mountain ranges in the distance. We thoroughly enjoyed our king room with a balcony, very comfortable bed and delicious breakfast overlooking the pool the next morning. Don't hesitate to book Stonehaven for your stay in Blenheim - you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
109
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Beautiful location amongst the vines, surrounded by mountains/hills. Magnificent evening meal shared with great company of John and Paulette and lovely wines from John's cellar. Breakfast was just outstanding, beautiful setting in the garden room by the pool, I was just blown away. I so much want to go back and hopefully we will make it with friends for my 60th next year. The homestead is just perfect, Paulette has done such a beautiful job putting together artwork and furnishings, bedrooms and bathrooms are stunning. I so much loved this place!!

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our two night stay in February was booked on the strength of previous TripAdvisor reviews; we were not disappointed.

The warm welcome, the beautiful surroundings, the great breakfasts by the pool, and John and Paulette's recommendations for our day tour of the wineries were topped off with a fantastic meal with out hosts and other guests: one of the best meals of our holiday.

The house is perfect and Stonehaven was one of our favourite locations in New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Perfect location in every way.
If you are planning to bike part, or all, of the Blenheim area wine trail, this is the B&B for you. There are at least ten wineries within a fifteen minute bike ride. Paulette and John are very hospitable and will help with whatever you need, including laundry. Breakfast by the pool is a lovely treat complete with white linen tablecloth and napkins. The rooms are large and have all the amenities you could possibly need. It is located in the middle of a vineyard and the gardens are beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our stay with John and Paulette was wonderful - the vineyard view from our room was beautiful; the wine, the home-cooked dinner and breakfasts we had were some of the best on our 3-week trip. The company of our hosts and the other guests made the stay even more enjoyable. Overall one of our favorite stops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our time at Stonehaven Homestay could not have been more perfect!! We wanted to experience all different types of accommodations while travelling for a month in New Zealand and actually had some reservations about doing a homestay particularly with regard to privacy and amount of interaction with the hosts. There was certainly no need for any of that concern. John and Paulette welcome you to their beautiful home which is located right in the middle of a vineyard. The house is off the road so it is extremely quiet and tranquil yet close enough to be able to drive into nearby Blenheim for shopping and dinner.

The guest rooms look out onto the vineyards and have pristine bathrooms with every amenity you would expect to find in a luxury hotel. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with great attention to detail. The linens are luxurious with comforters, embroidered pillowcases, and down pillows. There is an abundance of bath towels provided and a heated towel rack.

Breakfast is served in a lovely gazebo next to the swimming pool. Every morning Paulette served a different homemade muffin along with fresh fruit from John’s amazing garden. That is only the warm up for the hot breakfast. All is enough to keep you going until dinner. There is a nicely stocked mini-bar in the room and a carafe of port and sherry. When we returned from our day’s activities, they always had time to sit and chat with us over a cup of tea and cookies.

John and Paulette provided us with maps and recommendations on places to go and things to do. A must is seeing the nearby WWI (they are adding WWII hangars in the next year) air museum. I can assure you, even women will enjoy this. They helped us with winery suggestions catered to our own varietal preferences. Paulette even arranged a much-needed nail appointment for me at a nearby spa.

We strongly recommend you have at least one meal at the house (prior arrangements needed). It was one of the best meals we had in New Zealand! You will be able to select the menu ahead of time. Everything was delicious and well-presented. Wines were paired with the courses to complement the food. John and Paulette are fun and interesting which made for a most delightful evening and a lovely stay in the Marlborough region.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms available - king, queen, and twin beds and all have garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Second time in my life in BB . The first one was 40 years ago. I was convinced now to try again. Big surprise. luxury room . First class bathroom with all the extras . Beautiful house. Beautiful garden.we decided to try the dinner, cooked by Paulette and the desert by John , the lovely and interesting couple who owns the house, results were an excellent dinner. The same was with brake fast. John, ex police officer and Paulette, ex school teacher , created a high quality , real five stars combination of the goodies of a luxury hotel and BB. The interesting conversation are for free. One should try it. It is half the price of the same standard hotel. My wife , the one who should be obeyed, support every word and even more.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonehaven Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Homestay

Address: 414 Rapaura Rd, RD 3, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stonehaven Homestay 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 STAR QUALMARK GUEST & HOSTED AND ENVIRO SILVER AWARD. Stonehaven Homestay is situated amongst 20 acres of Sauvignon Blanc vines in the heart of sunny Marlborough's wine country, within easy walking or cycling distance of our most renowned wineries. Experience genuine, generous 'kiwi' hospitality - your comfort and a relaxing stay are our top priorities. The two Guest Rooms (King NZ$288 per night & Queen NZ$262 per night have exquisite vineyard & mountain views). Each room has a spacious en-suite bathroom with all the amenities you could wish for including underfloor heating, heated towel rail, bathrobes & toiletries. Rooms have bar fridges with complimentary goodies, Tea & Coffee making facilities with fresh home-baking, complimentary Port and Sherry, TV, electric blankets etc.Our delicious 'White Linen' Breakfast is a Stonehaven specialty and features home-grown & local produce - guaranteed to set you up for the day. Three course evening dining is available by arrangement. Book-A-Bike bicycle and scooter hire is based at Stonehaven. Have a fun day cycling around the wineries or take a scooter for a sight-seeing tour of the district for a taste of what Marlborough has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Stonehaven Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehaven Homestay Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonehaven Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.