We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm Kiwi welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Motel

Save Saved
You added Colonial Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   66 Main Street, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Blenheim
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A warm Kiwi welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Shona and Peter Etheredge are warm and welcoming hosts. They could not do enough for us. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The sitting room chairs weren't the most comfortable for lounging in, but that's a minor quibble.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and it was a pleasure to help you enjoy your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again sometime. It is always a pleasure to have received such positive remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful experience with top kiwi hospitality. We arrived Picton on the late Interislander ferry around 9.30pm. By the time we picked up our hire car and arrived the accommodation in Bleheim was after 10pm. The Reception was closed by then the owner Peter came out to greet us when he heard our car pull up.

The room was kept immaculately clean everyday. We had tons of dirty clothes from hiking to be washed and Peter was very helpful. While we were out for the day Peter even took the dried clothes off the clothes line and put them in our room as the weather was turning bad.

Peter was very helpful throughout our stay including where to get the groceries and places to eat around the accommodation.

Room Tip: It's a 2 storey motel, the upper floor has a better view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments and we always endeavour to make your stay as comfortable and stress free as possible. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Colonial Motel with a Sports Team and wow it was simpy awesome. The owners are unbelievably friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and beautifully clean. There was a laundry for us to use to wash and dry uniforms and a garage to set up a team table so we could all eat together. I would recommend this to anyone, single through to groups.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you Alethea for your wonderful comments.
We do endeavour to make stays as comfortable as possible and we enjoy looking after our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Warm spacious clean cozy rooms with everything you need. Awesum friendly service from the proprieters. Nothing is too much trouble. Very happy with our 5 night stay. Good price. And handy location. Would definately return again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments as we do value the feedback and pleased that you enjoyed your stay .Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed one night on way to Nelson, very clean rooms and very friendly and helpful hosts. Rooms are generous size and well equiped. Would recommend. It is on the main road so lot of traffic but doesn't really bother you, unless you are a really light sleeper. Don't let that put you off this great place to stay.

Room Tip: at the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Many thanks for your positive comments on our units and your stay. We do appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Our 2 night stay in Blenheim was made more enjoyable because we had chosen this great motel. Owners Peter and Shona were incredibly friendly and informative, as well as really approachable. Our motel room was at the back of the block, away from the main road, and we had a car-port right outside our room. The room was really clean and condiments were restocked daily. I had numerous chats to Peter who showed a genuine interest in our stay and gave our toddler attention, being a grandfather himself. We had a 2 bedroom unit and there was a terrific open-plan kitchen, lounge and dining area. Bathroom was small but very clean. Within the complex was a BBQ, a cubby house and an outdoor swimming pool (the swimming pool we did not use as it wasn't the right weather). We were also offered the complimentary loan of DVDs for our son. Motel was on same road as New World supermarket, and was only a short walk to town centre. Overall a really lovely experience and a great accommodation choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you Louise for your lovely remarks about your stay at our motel.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to host you and the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South east
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at the Colonial for two separate nights as we travelled south, then back north on the South Island. We booked the second night following our first experience.

We found the accomodation to be spacious, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The kitchenette areas were very well equipped and the bathroom areas ideal.

The Manager was extremely helpful and we greatly benefited from his local knowledge and information on the area.

The motel is close to the highway, but so are most of the other motels in the area, and there isn't much traffic later in the evening anyway.

Having stayed in about 15 motels in New Zealand during February and March I have no hesitation in saying this is one of the best.

Room Tip: Phone the motel and discuss your needs with the Manger. He is a very friendly, helpful guy, and appr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We would just like to express our appreciation for your very kind comments regarding our motel and hospitality.
It was a pleasure to have you stay on the 2 occasions and hope that we may see you here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Address: 66 Main Street, Blenheim, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonial Motel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Blenheim
Colonial Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;