We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIVINE DINING....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Urville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel d'Urville to your Saves list
Hotel d'Urville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Queen Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Blenheim
UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“DIVINE DINING....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were in Blenheim for three nights and ate here on TWO of those!
We like good food at fair prices, served without pretentiousness whilst allowing us to feel chilled and cherished....this restaurant did all that and some!..
We were not rushed and were advised about various options available by a VERY handsome head waiter....not certain if you'd call him the Maitre d'.....as he also appeared to be the Sommelier too!
We enjoyed VERY different foods on each of the evenings....wishing to sample all the fine and interesting choices on the menu.....NOT a vast menu but it appeared that it was all fresh produce....and tasted like it!
The building is STUNNING and, if I am ever that way again I would to stay in one of the 11/12 rooms this Hotel has!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    44
    11
    9
    6
See reviews for
8
86
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here several times on business trips always found this hotel to be warm and inviting and able to accommodate even the most demanding of travellers. Any request sort from the team of capable and highly efficient staff was answered immediately and carried out without delay.
I've stayed in several of the rooms here all I believe with a different theme, and have enjoyed each ones character and appointments. I have also always enjoyed a great night’s sleep here (might be the complementally Port while heading back to one’s room?)
The restaurant serves a comprehensive menu featuring local produce and I particularly enjoyed the Beef and Seafood on offer. The wine selection is outstanding which you would expect being one of NZ better wine regions.
All in all I have always enjoyed staying here and recommend to all for a great Hotel to stay when in Marlborough.

Room Tip: Upstairs is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed three nights as surprise birthday getaway. Stayed in the amazing room called The Raja Room. Love the wood and the king size super comfy four poster bed. The owners and staff were very friendly and eager to assist when ever needed. Really enjoyed the stay and service. The food and restaurant within the Hotel is well worth the price. Mouth watering selection and the service is above fine dinning standards. Would recommend The Hotel d'Urville to anyone. Thanks Tony and Sarah for making our getaway special.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is small with only a few rooms. Our room was awesome. Loved the decor and the size of the room and bathroom were great. The service was great in every way. The only problem I felt was there was no where to put the kettle on besides the floor which honestly was ok. We did not dine in the restaurant for the evening but heard great reviews about it. We would definitely stay here again. So close to everything.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

From the warm welcome to the delicious evening meal everything here is geared to excellent customer service. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The room was spacious with an adjacent lounge common to all upstairs rooms. Situated centrally with free parking this is a wonderful base to explore the region. Hospitality at its finest.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Our two night stay here was very restful and enjoyable. Staff were extremely accommodating and helpful and we were astonished at how quiet it was at night considering it's position in town.
We stayed in the Retro room which was quirky and fun. The upstairs bedroom could be difficult for some, but we found it very sleep inducing and quiet.
The quality of the meals and table service was excellent and my fillet mignon outstanding. We ate in both nights. Our waiter provided excellent advice on wine choice which we appreciated.

Room Tip: Retro room was very handy to the foyer, on the ground floor, but upstairs, loft type bedroom may not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

We had the great pleasure of staying at d'Urville. We had 3 rooms and they were charming and spacious. The renovation is really interesting. Our dinner was superb with a fabulous wine list. Sorry we had only alloted one night. The next day's visit to Omaka air display is not to be missed. Thank you, Tony, for recommending it.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#14 of 30 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
6.4 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Heritage Boutique Collection
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#12 of 30 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#20 of 30 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#1 of 30 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#2 of 30 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Urville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Urville

Address: 52 Queen Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#14 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Urville 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Blenheim's finest landmarks, the historic Public Trust Building, is now transformed into a luxury 11-room hotel for the discerning traveller. Each of our 11 suites has been designed and decorated to create an individual and distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel d'Urville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Urville Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
d Urville Hotel Blenheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Urville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.