We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Urville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel d'Urville to your Saves list
Hotel d'Urville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Queen Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Blenheim
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Had a great time!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in was easy. Staff helpful and friendly.
Central location a great bonus.
Rooms are period (quirky) however functional and very soundproof.
With aircon.
Bed was large firm and very comfortable.
Meals were fabulous.
Clams, Mussels, Monkfish, Lamb
All fabulous.
Bathrooms are snug but great water pressure and hot water.
Will definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    39
    7
    9
    5
See reviews for
8
70
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel d'Urville and were treated well by the staff, It's very quiet, partially because Blenheim pretty much closes up after 1800. The hotel is not staffed overnight which was not an issue for us but might be for some. My wife thought we were the only ones in the building our first night which she found unsettling. On our first night the restaurant called our room about 1800 and asked if we would be joining them for dinner. I explained we had other plans and the man on the phone said, "OK then, we are going to close". It's probably different during the busy season and I would recommend.

Room Tip: Any room is fine. The sidewalks are rolled up in Blenheim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A last minute decision saw us make a Labour Weekend escape to Blenheim and we were delighted to be guests at Hotel d'Urville. The owner-operator, Tony, made us most welcome and the charming Venus suite was comfortable and intriguingly decorated. We thoroughly enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant - great local food and wine - and appreciated the attentive service from Jettie, the maître d'. Of particular note was the seafood chowder which sent my dining companion into raptures.The complementary port for hotel guests was a lovely touch, too.

This hotel made a great base from which to explore the Marlborough vineyards and the hotel staff provided useful information to help us plan our time.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clears, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and had a quirky, split level room. Staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. Could have done with more comfy seating in the sitting area of the room though. Restaurant served beautiful food, if a little pricey.

Room Tip: Split level room was quirky but avoid if you have trouble with steps or sleepwalking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

As visitors to Blenheim we had been recommended the restaurant and had high hopes. We walked in at 7.30pm and at 10.05 gave up and left not having had our main meal. When we left we had also been over charged 1 bottle of wine on the bill. They did take it off the bill but - really do not expect to have to check so carefully at such a high level establishment.
The staff made one mistake after another with the constant excuse that it was a busy night. The bread and entrees arrived together after waiting over an hour. One entree was missed and arrived another 15 minutes later. Then we waited and waited. When we queried. The answer was always it was a very busy night. That is no excuse for such a high level restaurant. When we left without our main meals the staff were not apologetic, but said they had nothing to say.
Utterly dissappointing.

Ps turned up at Raupo as they were closing and they took us in fed us, apologised for our bad experience and could not do enought to make sure we went home happy. I can not recommend them highly enough.

Hotel durville you need to up your game our lower you prices to reflect the level of service you offer!!!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

We had a 7:30pm booking at this restaurant last night and had the most disappointing experience! There was no particular welcome, clumsy drinks service, the waiter took one order from our group then just walked off for 10 minutes and attended other tables. When the entrees finally arrived they were shoved in front of us, pushing our glasses out of the way (and they had forgotten the first entree that was ordered). By 10:20pm we were still waiting for our mains. We had asked after our meals several times and were given an unfriendly brush off. In the end we decided to leave, paying for our wine and entrees and going without dinner. The manager agreed we had waited too long but offered no apology. I have never walked out of a restaurant without dinner before! I would not recommend this restaurant to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN USA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, and while we did get 2 beds, for which we asked, one was of a style which did not lend itself to getting in and out easily. We were in #1, the Taj, sort of an Indian theme. The other bed was comfortable for both of us, so used the extra for luggage.

I would describe d'Urville as a quaint boutique hotel, but if you are looking for the Intercontinental, that it is not. While room was adequate, bath left a bit to be desired, but manageable. Wifi a bit sketchy but walls very, very thick as a former bank and later a trust company.

The staff was super, very friendly, accommodating, and helpful in suggesting what to do. Restaurant was also excellent, and definitely fine dining,with outstanding service and food.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel d'Urville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Urville

Address: 52 Queen Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#14 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Urville 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Blenheim's finest landmarks, the historic Public Trust Building, is now transformed into a luxury 11-room hotel for the discerning traveller. Each of our 11 suites has been designed and decorated to create an individual and distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel d'Urville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Urville Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
d Urville Hotel Blenheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Urville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.