We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Urville

Save Saved
You added Hotel d'Urville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel d'Urville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Queen Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Blenheim
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed in the "Raja Room" for a couple of nights in early May. Had dinner the first night in the restaurant, which was sophisticated and quite excellent. The continental breakfasts were nicely done too, and we slept peacefully, especially after our full day of wine tasting! I so, so wanted to love this place, but being honest with myself, the Raja Room wasn't really to my taste, although I didn't say anything to management at the time, and I realise it's all about personal taste (some people will love it). Having a trunk at the end of your bed with ornaments that are easy to knock over, the step up and low timber beam entrance to the bathroom, and the purpose of a huge timber Indian style day bed... these elements are all totally in keeping with the "Raja Room" theme, but I was still puzzled. This hotel, with themed rooms in an old bank building, was obviously the vision of the developer/owner, created & presented with a clear point of difference to other hotels or motels in the area, so I still feel I have no right to complain. The food, the room cleaning, the personal service - all par excellence. Perhaps the Raja Room just wasn't my cup of tea.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
7
65
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I drove up for a weekend and were very happy indeed with the hotel, the service and the food especially. The quality of the food and wine was faultless.
Centrally located- handy to everything. Will definitely be back and have already recommended it to others. Gael & Neville Robb

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Its not often in life that you come across such a great experience as a night at this hotel. A lovely friendly welcome at the front desk, made you feel that you were staying at a mates place. Rooms were cool and very comfortable with had a nice modern stylish touch. We dined at the hotel that night and again we were very impressed, great service, great food and very good value. A real gem of a place, and I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Lovely heritage hotel.
Best food I had in a month in NZ.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Our room, the D'Urville room, was freshly and very thoughtfully decorated. We especially appreciated the books on D'Urville and his voyages which we read in bed after dinner and again over coffee in the morning (plunger, coffee and fresh milk provided). The room had a high, four-posted bed, windows that opened for fresh air and blinds to tilt to reduce outside light, a small table for our morning coffee, a corner cabinet with books and other interesting elements, and period prints on the walls.
Dinner in the restaurant downstairs was very good. The whitebait (a South Island treat) was perfect, not too oily or over-eggy as is sometimes the case, but just right. So was our other first course, a black sausage-type dish.The restaurant is justly known for the quality of its meat. We both had filet mignon but could choose from a range of sauces and other accompaniments. Service was efficient and helpful. We drank the local Astrolobe pinot noir, in honor of D'Urville's ship name, to continue the theme (so hard to choose from what appeared to be a very good list).
We loved the re-use of the old heavy safe doors from the original building as bedroom and corridor doors.
Parking was easy: just next door. The bathroom was small but because it was well laid out it wasn't cramped in the shower or around the toilet.
I'd been a bit concerned about the potential for noise, as the hotel is on a street corner in the city centre (on top of which, the D'Urville room is a corner room), but the only problem was a group at about 3am going under our windows talking loudly. (But that can just as easily happen at a country resort when a group of guests decides to finally go to bed.) That and what I assume was the mail plane going rather low overhead about half an hour later.
We had only booked by phone about an hour before our arrival, as we hadn't been sure we'd get to Blenheim that night. I had taken a short-list of hotels in various places and we were so pleased that we managed to get a room here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokoroa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed here for the Marlborough food & wine festival in February of 2012. We absolutely loved it. The room was fun, comfortable and very clean. The staff we friendly and extremely helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning, beautiful cereals, breads, fruit etc. One evening we had a meal in the restaurant and the food was fantastic! It is a great spot and we would definately stay here again, infact we have booked to go back for next years food & wine festival but are trying to get more rooms so we can take lots of our friends!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Raja room for one evening. Check-in was easy with a very friendly staff member. The room was eclectic, funky, spotlessly clean and well appointed. We enjoyed the eccentricity of it and were expecting it from reading other reviews. A friend who is from Blenheim suggested the hotel restaurant for dinner. He said it was "the best dinner in town". We made a dinner reservation when we booked the room. We were not disappointed! It was the best meal out that we had in New Zealnd.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel d'Urville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Urville

Address: 52 Queen Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#13 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Urville 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Blenheim's finest landmarks, the historic Public Trust Building, is now transformed into a luxury 11-room hotel for the discerning traveller. Each of our 11 suites has been designed and decorated to create an individual and distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel d'Urville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Urville Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
d Urville Hotel Blenheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Urville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.