We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Marlborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Marlborough to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Marlborough
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Nelson St, Blenheim 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Marlborough)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Blenheim
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable and spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were greeted by friendly staff, who seemed genuinely happy to have us stay at the hotel. Front desk staffer offered to help us figure out the best way to get to a not-so-close restaurant, which was much appreciated. Rooms are clean and have all the amenities one might need. Bathroom enormous! Location within a few minutes walk to town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    31
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
47
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night, and used their function room facilities.

We had a very friendly welcome, and comfortable large rooms. Bathroom was probably twice the size of my bathroom at home! Restaurant food was very tasty, and despite our rather late arrival, the restaurant staff didn't try to rush us through our meal (which happens really often, obviously these guys are well trained).

The function room was large and cool, which was a must for a December day in Blenheim. Everything worked well as it should.

Would not hesitate to stay here again, it seems like a really friendly and well run family operation. Should I need function rooms in Blenheim again, similarly, I would be happy to return.

They also have a very cute wee dog, Lilly, who makes the place her own!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked at this hotel and got a confimation email with the correct details. 3 days before we were due to stay there, I got another email with totally incorrect details. Rang to check and should have listened to the warning signals. Got there and the rooms were fine but oh, the service. Asked for brochures about the wineries in the area - apparently they have NO brochures but the man at the counter has all the information in his head! Not much use for spreading out on the bed and sorting thru though. And I noticed they had 32 (yes, I counted) books on Quality Hotels. Could I suggest a few less of them and some more on what the area is famous for? And FlyBuys are mentioned on their sign but we had to ask for them - they weren't offered. We were actively discouraged from using the dining room to the extent that we were given a toaster to take to our room. The people running this hotel need to decide if they are actually suited to hotel work. Our rubbish bins had no plastic bags in them and they weren't emptied. When we asked about this we were told, I only do beds, I don't do bins. Obviously, but not much help.
They seem to be operating on minimal staffing levels and it shows. I very much doubt I would stay here again - there are just so many better options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keepawake, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel.I am very sorry that your stay was not up to standard.First of all we are very happy to offer Fly buys with all stays,we have now placed a message at reception asking our guests to please present their flybuys,so hopefully that will fix that.We do stock maps of the wineries here but unfortunately we ran out of these the day before your arrival and got them the next Monday.There seems to be a communication issue regarding the toaster, Your traveling companions on arrival asked us if we could provide a toaster for their room as they had special dietary requirements and could not eat in our restaurant.I am sorry you had the impression that we discourage guests eating in our restaurant as we actively encourage guests to dine in as this is a major income stream for the hotel.
Lastly I have sent you a private email saying how we intend to make things right,this is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A clean, tidy and quite up to date hotel. Room was comfortable and large. Bathroom a little dated though completely adequate. Restaurant meals were above average quality. Staff kind and courteous. May be a little warm in summer as the room did not have air conditioning though completely adequate for cooler months. I would stay at my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was stopping overnight before catching the ferry, as so many Blenheim visitors do, and found this on the internet - hotel luxury at a very reasonable price, much better value than the motel I stayed at last time. Comfortable, well furnished room, convenient off street parking, helpful staff, good dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, friendly helpful staff - what more can you want?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We drove into the carpark tired and walked inside to a warm welcome, and instantly relaxed. the room was excellent.........large, well presented with quality toiletries provided. Quiet and very handy to a very good river walk, and close to the Pollard park gardens/golf areas. The Continental breakfast IS definitely worthwhile...we loved it, and it looks out to a lovelly pool area, which although we did not partakeof, we feel sure it would be most comfortable and in a quite romantic setting.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the road would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Knew we had some down time while in Blenheim and knew we would be exhausted on arrival so were all so excited about the heated pool - had imagined the children having a lot of fun while we relaxed poolside - only to find on arrival that the pool was empty of water for maintenance, made the more frustrating by the unbelievably beautiful hot day! Were also looking forward to some adult privacy so was disappointed on arrival to see that the two beds upstairs are on a mezzanine floor, not a separate room. Other than that, we loved our stay. Buffet breakfast was great for hungry boys, room was very clean with lovely linen and towels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keepawake, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review,it is these that help us improve our service.
I must apologize for the pool being empty as we had just had it painted and needed to wait several days before we could fill it,unfortunately the tradesmen also had to wait for the weather to improve as we had had a wet few weeks before this.You have a good point about the family room we gave you,we do have two others with separate sleeping but both these were also full during your stay but we may have been able to swap you into one of these depending on arrivals and demands.As always we appreciate hearing our guests views on the hotel as this improves both our service and operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Marlborough

Address: 20 Nelson St, Blenheim 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Marlborough)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Marlborough 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Blenheim
Quality Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Marlborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.