We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Marlborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Marlborough to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   corner Alfred & Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand (Formerly Heartland Hotel Marlborough)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Blenheim
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Staff are friendly and professional. Room was very nice, however, bathroom walls were dirty and not cleaned over our two night stay, despite everything else being clean and tidy.

Had dinner in the restaurant which we did not enjoy, although staff and service were great. Just didn't enjoy the food, and there was zero atmosphere (no music).

Brekkie was okay, a great convenience factor if you couldn't be bothered walking to restaurants (which were all very close by).

Overall, a very nice hotel, good value for money, woould stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Katherine

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and would stay again despite the couple of issues you faced. I will look into these to see what went wrong and I am very sorry that this happened. We generally get very good feedback about our cuisine but it seems we came short of the mark when you dined with us. Many thanks for bringing this to my attention and please accept my apologies once more.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    60
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
81
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was here for 1 night for work, room was really nice and tidy, looked recently done up. Ate in the bar (outside) and food was really good and good bar service. Room was quiet and had the buffet breakfast in the morning which was good hotel quality food. Would be coming back here next time for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is wonderful to hear that you have had an enjoyable time with us and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Blenheim.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Eventually found the hotel with the aid of the i centre. Good book in , given and old fashion Yale style key to get into the hotel from the rear carpark and into the room. Just did not want to work, checked and it was bent. As only staying overnight not a big problem but still irritating. Pool welcome , and room and bed more than adequate. Ideal location for wine tours.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and thank you for staying with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay but I must apologise for the frustration of the bent key. We will search it out and destroy it to avoid this happening again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

You don't believe what you encounter once you enter this hotel that looks more like an industrial building than a hotel.
Some of the best reception service we have ever experienced. Very tasteful decor. Very ckean.
Fine rooms, not very spacious but very pleasant and good decor.
Excellent restaurant, food and service.
These people do some of the very best hotel job we ever experienced.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Karel

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again in the future.

With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The reception staff are first rate,thank you kelli you are a star. Very efficient and friendly and patient when I forgot to take my mini bar off the bill so it wouldn't go on the company CC.The beds are so comfortable that it's hard to get up in the morning. Lovely rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

It is always wonderful to hear great things about our team - thank you. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great place to stay. Staff are very helpful & friendly. Room was great, well appointed . Surprisingly for such a central location it was very quiet.
Bed very comfortable.
Would recommend it to anyone staying in Blenheim.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms seem to be the option, nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time and I hope to see you again some time in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We just spent two nights here and wish we had stayed longer instead of heading to Nelson. Rooms are clean, modern and stylish. Love the block out blinds and beds, super comfy. Good size rooms. I've stayed in a few scenic circle hotels and this one is the best so far. Location is handy we walked to various places during our stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was wonderful to hear that you had such a good time whilst you stayed with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I hope to be able to welcome you back some time in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Marlborough

Address: corner Alfred & Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand (Formerly Heartland Hotel Marlborough)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#7 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#8 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Marlborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Marlborough is a contemporary and stylish property located in the heart of sunny Marlborough. The result of a multi-million dollar upgrade of the former Heartland Hotel Marlborough, Scenic Hotel Marlborough offers guests the ultimate in modern comfort and service. Located in the heart of Marlborough, the hotel is just minutes' walk from the centre of Blenheim, and puts some of New Zealand's finest food and wine virtually on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Blenheim
Scenic Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Marlborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.