We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ASURE Sundowner Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ASURE Sundowner Motel to your Saves list
ASURE Sundowner Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   132 Middle Renwick Road | Springlands, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Blenheim
melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Doug and Dorothy could not possibly be more helpful, this is the second time I've stayed here and I couldn't imagine going anywhere else in Blenheim to stay. The room is always clean and facilities whilst modest are comfortable and well equipped. This time we stayed over the new year period but we decided to go to Wellington for 1 night before coming back to the motel for a few more nights. They were more than helpful with minding our bags and some of our food, even placed them back in our room for us before we got back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review ASURE Sundowner Motel and it was a pleasure to have you stay once again.
Enjoy your year ahead.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
33
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Sundowner - as in other Asure motels of our experience- is a spacious,comfortable and well appointed accommodation. The standard of cleanliness can not be bettered and the hosts are very friendly and welcoming. There is a supermarket and other shops/takeaways across the road whilst the town centre of Blenheim is just a few minutes drive away. This motel is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Found this a great base for visiting Blenheim. Close to the airport. Great little shopping centre across the road with a lovely cafe. Lovely walks around the area. Short car drive to some nice takeaway shops and not too far from town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

As first time guests we were well and truly impressed by the friendly welcome we received when checking in. A quick tour of our unit and we had no questions at all. Very helpful hosts even set up a cot for my daughter. My friend and I, along with my 1 year old daughter stayed in the 1 bedroom spa unit with 2 king size beds. we were thoroughly impressed with the spa, and are glad we chose this unit purely on the spa itself. THE BEST spa in a motel ever! Plenty of hot water to fill the spa and extremly relaxing! I would recommend staying at the sundowner motel to anyone. Thanks very much for the stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Khloe and Family - appreciate the time you've spent reviewing ASURE Sundowner Motel. Really appreciate your effort and your feedback and look forward to seeing you again when next you're in Blenheim.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimate, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

As repeat guests at the ASURE Sundowner Motel we always enjoy the welcome we receive from our hosts - Doug & Dorothy - we always request unit 2 which has a double spa bath which we both can relax and enjoy. The unit is always spotlessly clean, well maintained, and has everything we require. The 50 PLUS Sky Channels is an added bonus. Thank you once again Doug & Dorothy.

Helen D Tucker

Room Tip: Unit 2 is fabulous, theres nothing more relaxing than having a spa, just lie back and relax, it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Helen, thank you for taking the time to review ASURE Sundowner Motel. It is appreciated. We always endeavour to make our guests welcome and enjoy their time in Marlborough. Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Kia Ora Travelers, four of us stayed in the 1 bedroom unit with 2 king beds and double spa unit. The unit itself was lovely and clean and the staff were kind but unfortunately there's very limited hot water. You can only fill the spa bath once, then you have no hot water left, due to the small hot water cylinder the unit runs off. There was no information informing us of this before we booked, had we have known prior to reading the notice in the bathroom as we filled the spa, I would've booked elsewhere. It didn't only disturb the spa, but also when we all showered in the morning one of us ran out of hot water. This was very upsetting for some of us. Motels should be running off an unlimited hot water system. This was the main reason our experience was of poor quality but also for the beverages there was only tea and coffee, no other beverage without caffeine like milo or herbal tea. Also the beverages didn't get refilled while we were there for the 2 nights either.

Room Tip: ask how much hot water your unit runs off
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The unit has a 200 litre hot water cylinder which is adequate to fill the double spa bath once only, and the hot water once drained will be reheated by the next morning, and the 200 litre cylinder should be adequate for 4 people to shower. We don't have unlimited supply of hot water in any unit, whether a spa unit or executive unit. All units have a 200 litre hot water cylinder.
We offer Dilmah Tea, Robert Harris Swiss Coffee, Decaf Coffee, Tutarara Plunger Coffee, Equal and Sugar and if the supplies were not replenished in this instance, then this is an oversight on our part and we apologise.
In the 11 years we have been hosts at ASURE Sundowner Motel we have always received wonderful feedback, have a good rapport with all guests and have excellent repeat visitors - and do take onboard this guests feedback.
Regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Appreciated the welcoming, friendly host, the unit was nice and clean. I got a fabulous recommd for nearby take away lovely fresh blue cod and fat free chips for dinner. The Unit was nicely warmed up ready for a great sleep before my big drive south.
The supermarket accross the road was handy and had friendly staff too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner_9, Owner at ASURE Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Robyn, appreciate the time you took to review our ASURE Sundowner Motel property. Look forward to your visiting us again. Thank you very much.
Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to ASURE Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Sundowner Motel

Address: 132 Middle Renwick Road | Springlands, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Sundowner Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Sundowner Motel in Blenheim, Marlborough, NZ is ASURE Rated 4 Star, and is an ideal motel complex for business and pleasure. Dorothy and Doug offer you quality, well appointed, self-contained, spacious, ground floor units with parking directly outside the door. ASURE Sundowner Motel is renowned for its quietness and the convenience of Springlands Shopping Complex directly opposite. We have Guest Select 50 Plus SKY Channels. We provide our business guests with competitive rates and chargeback facilities. With the Wine District on our doorstep, the beautiful Marlborough Sounds to the North, and Kaikoura and Nelson within easy reach, the ASURE Sundowner Motel is ideally placed for you to enjoy all aspects of the Marlborough Region. We are the Blenheim members of the ASURE Accommodation Group which consists of quality, independently owned and operated accommodation properties throughout New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your ASURE Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ASURE Sundowner Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASURE Sundowner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.