We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large clean unit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherylea Motel

Cherylea Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cherylea Motel to your Saves list
Cherylea Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   73-79 Nelson St, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Blenheim
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Large clean unit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The room we were in was a good size with the beds in the main lounge area. Was suprised to have a full stove and large fridge. Everything was clean and tidy. Queen size bed was very hard, single bed nice and soft.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Owners were very accommodating and put an extra bed in a unit so our extended family would fit. They were also great at offering advice on local attractions. Very clean, spacious unit. Playground and large grass area for kids to run around. Nice pool, although we didn't use it. Good pub next door for meals or a cold drink and 5 minute walk to supermarket, chemist and cafe. Our only complaint would be that a BBQ is advertised as being available, butbthis was reserved by another unit during our stay. Perhaps the BBQ should either stay in a central area and be available on a "first in, first served" basis as at most other motels I've stayed in, it should be advertised as having be booked ahead of time to guarantee use, or one should be able to be booked and another provided for general use.
Would recommend this motel and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherylea_Motel, Manager at Cherylea Motel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thankyou for your review of our motel, we apologise for the lack of availability with the BBQ. We have since addressed this issue by making a second BBQ available for guests to use. As we progress with our grounds there will also be a dedicated BBQ area available for use so hopefully we will see you back again and able to have a family BBQ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, spatious with all needed to prepare meals. It is well located 10 mins from the main wineyards.

The only dowside was that we wanted to do a bbq as they sais they had a bbq for guests but it was already "reserved" to another room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We found the owner to be really helpful upon check in, and gave some great local advice for eateries (highly recommend the Speights bar) The room was clean and comfortable which is exactly what you need after a wine tour. The place also has an outdoor pool which my wife utilized (before the wine tour)

Overall a great little motel, would recommend!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We enjoyed our one night here. After check in I noticed a baby hedgehog in the lawn. Well our two teenage girls were thrilled to watch the animal, as was I!
Our 1 bedroom apartment was a good size with a generous kitchen (no oven though). Our queen bed was in the main living area space. Car was parked directly out the front of our room, so that was handy.
A pleasant place to stay, fairly close to wineries.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherylea_Motel, Owner at Cherylea Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
thankyou, the baby hedge hogs were a bonus and would be the most photographed hedge hogs ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable roomy unit and friendly helpful hosts. The price is reasonable and the unit very clean and tidy. Close to shops wineries and town. Considering it is on a main road there was no traffic noise in the unit. We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A weekend visit for a family wedding, the motel chosen from the AA book was an excellent choice. The owners were more than friendly and went out of their way to help us out with travel around Blenheim. My parents were at the same motel and they too were well looked after.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Not too far from town, with a convenient restaurant just next door, also to be recommended.
We highly recommend the Cherylea Motel for a great stay when in Blenheim.
Dave & Sheila, Whangarei

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherylea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherylea Motel

Address: 73-79 Nelson St, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherylea Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, family and pet friendly motel comprising studio, one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom units.Kids play area, swimming pool and BBQ facilities. Family Restaurant/Tavern adjacent. Tennis Courts and Pollard Park an easy 5 minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cherylea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherylea Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherylea Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.