We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherylea Motel

Cherylea Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cherylea Motel to your Saves list
Cherylea Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   73-79 Nelson St | Springlands, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Blenheim
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Family Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Cherylea as a group of 31 - families, couples, singles (11 units) - all in Blenheim for a wedding. We all were very pleased with our selection. The motel has expansive grounds - perfect for children - a trampoline, swing, slide and fantastic pool - all viewable from the units. We had a modern, spacious very comfortable and clean family unit (fair to state though that some of the rooms were a little tired). We found the owners very accommodating and welcoming - very willing to assist us, as were the cleaning staff. The location is excellent - a walk to town, a block to the super market and very close to a reserve and a park. We had 3 nights there and would have liked a 4th - we'll have to go back :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has had a facelift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherylea_Motel, Owner at Cherylea Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thankyou for your feed back it is appreciated, and comments taken on board. Pleased to hear all in your group enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The motel is 70's kiwiana but the service from the owner is rude, abrupt and inflexible. Despite a large booking for almost a week, the owner insisted we leave earlier than normal checkout time. This and her disgruntled attitude to the most basic request for Internet access or a broom. These are not customer service focused people.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherylea_Motel, Owner at Cherylea Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments posted after your school group stayed in September. I apologise if you found that I was rude and aggressive. We certainly appreciate your business but as a business we were unable to work to your request for a 2.00pm checkout for all 8 units occupied by your group. You were however offered the use of a 2 bedroom unit to store luggage and to also come back to after your sport. Your group chose not to utilise that offer. Internet access is controlled when there are school groups staying as parents are not happy when faced with a large account for uncontrolled access. The comment on the broom, I do not recall that as being an issue!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurchi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Very welcoming, a large room which was warm and comfortable. Well priced

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
212 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Motel is well located for those travelling North (as we were, to catch the ferry the next day), or West (to Nelson or beyond).
Also pet friendly, which in New Zealand, is always a big bonus.
Warm and friendly welcome, without all the dire threats and warnings regards pets on the property.
Rooms, whilst a little on the pricier side, were very spacious, well furnished, and very comfortable (including the bed).
An excellent guest Information book was also supplied, but failed to mention the great restaurant right behind them, which is where we went, when we found one of the places recommended in their Guest Information Book absolutely crowded.
My only negative comment regards the accommodation is that they are located on the main road West, which means a lot of truck traffic up till around 10pm. After that, till about 7am, it is bearable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

A nice average motel. Clean, tidy and most facilities you could want.

We stayed as a family of 4 including two young children and there was plenty of room for everything. A good stop off point for a night or two and well located on a main road on the way out of the town near the local supermarket. Clearly some upgrading going on with new sofa's and TV's.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Very helpful hosts and large room for the money. We stayed in a studio room but it had a separate kitchen which was unexpected and certainly nice. Shower was modern and hot. Room was a little difficult to keep warm and was cool when we woke up but overall good location for the vineyards. We have stayed nicer places in Blenheim but this motel accepted our dog, which was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Pretty mediocre as far as the quality of the room went. The price was relatively cheap but then that was reflected in the rooms. Luke warm reception. Just an average stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#20 of 29 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#14 of 29 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admirals Motor Lodge
Admirals Motor Lodge
#23 of 29 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#2 of 29 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Blenheim
Bella Vista Motel Blenheim
#15 of 29 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherylea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherylea Motel

Address: 73-79 Nelson St | Springlands, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherylea Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, family and pet friendly motel comprising studio, one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom units.Kids play area, swimming pool and BBQ facilities. Family Restaurant/Tavern adjacent. Tennis Courts and Pollard Park an easy 5 minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Cherylea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherylea Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherylea Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.