We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Molesworth cycle tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molesworth High Country Tours

Molesworth High Country Tours
50 Shw 63 | Renwick, Blenheim, New Zealand (Formerly Molesworth Tour Company)
+64 3 5728025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 41 Activities in Blenheim
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the lifestyle of NZ high country farming on a range of small group escorted tours. Choose from a fun supported cycle tours, escorted historical tours or 4WD self drive tagalong tours to discover the beautiful South Island high country. Enjoy meeting local farmers, visit their homes, experience great farm hospitality, learn about the history of New Zealand's largest high country cattle station. A large range of tours to choose from, sit back and enjoy being driven by your personal guide in a small mini coach for one day, two days, three or a four day Heritage Discovery Tour. Or join a multi-day cycle tour through the Molesworth high country with maximum group size of 14 people, or experience a multi-day self drive 4WD tour.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Molesworth cycle tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

A fantastic four days of cycling, scenery and food. We did this trip over Easter 2012 and saw a part of NZ we'd never seen before. Geoff and Lee made this tour so easy and relaxed - all we had to do was cycle. Our guides had amazing knowledge of the area and kept us informed and entertained over the whole trip. We would highly recommend this tour for all levels. If you've had enough, you just put your bike on the bus, and advanced riders are well catered for with optional riding. The food through the tour was great - from lunch at a vineyard to home cooked dinner on a merino station. This was a hassle free, fun-filled four days that made us want to go home and do more cycling!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawera, Taranaki, New Zealand
1 review
“Molesworth bicycle ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was an excellent trip. We had been talking about visiting the Molesworth area for some time when we noticed the trip on the web. We are both keen cyclists so we thought this would be a good way to pay this area a visit with the security of the bus following. We found the trip a little more challenging than we expected but the fact the we were able to complete the entire ride was extremely satisfying. We were very fortunate with the weather which was warm and sunny during the whole trip. Geoff, Lee and Robert put together a well thought out trip that was well suited to all members of the trip and we really wanted for nothing. The other 6 members of the trip were excellent company and the comradeship added to the experience.
Guy and Jenny O

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highly recommended cycling tour to a unique part of New Zealand.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We went on the Molesworth Cycle tour in March 2012. It is a very unique part of the South island and difficult to get to without the support of a tour company -especially if you want to bike it.
The days were well organized and we could do as much or as little biking as we wanted.
Very intersting terrain to bike -no long straights but a lot of grunty hills and long downhills. Dramatic scenery at every corner.
The food and accomodation was excellent. and we felt very well looked after the whole time.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“A fantastic tour with memorable experiences!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We went on a four day tour with Trevor as our driver / guide. Trevor's knowledge of the history of the early settlers and stations was incredible. The tour included stays at some memorable places such as Ugbrooke House and Tophouse (Nelson Lakes). The morning / afternoon teas and lunches hosted by local land-owners and residents were a highlight as they were "real" people and their cuisine and friendliness were exceptional! The scenery was breath-taking. The tour was very well organised and I thoroughly recommend it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molesworthnz, Manager at Molesworth High Country Tours, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed your high country tour experience and meeting some of the locals with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic scenery , great hosts and interesting stories.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This journey would not have been the same if it hadn't been for our guide Geoff's great organisation skills, fun personality and great stories from the past and present.
As Farmers from the North lsland it was interesting to see how these extensive farms function. lt was great going onto Upcot station for the day and meeting the Steveson's who own Upcot.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molesworth High Country Tours also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Molesworth High Country Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molesworth High Country Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.