We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryland Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ryland Estate
Save
You added Ryland Estate to your Saves list
92 Pauls Road, RD3, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 47 Blenheim B&B and Inns
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dreamy vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed recently in the Barn. We absoutely adored the place. Peter and Trish are a delight - they kept giving us fruits and veggies from their garden, which we devoured daily. The Barn itself is gorgeous - the decor is excellent, the apartment very comfortable, the kitchen well stocked for your vacation cooking. Trust me, I am not one to cook on vacations, but the New Zealand lamb and the grill at the house were just too big of a temptation. Pair that with fresh salad and tomatoes from the garden, along with some corn and wine fmor the next door winery and you can pretty much picture the perfect idyllic vacation. The estate is very child friendly - our toddler had a ball running around the lawn, getting wet under the sprinklers or riding the tractor with Peter. The house is surrounded by tens of wineries, which we went exploring every day. The house also has all modern amenities, including wireless internet and cable TV.
The Ryland is a place to return to every year. We left it with heavy hearts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were not expecting to stay at an orchard while visiting wineries but oh so glad we did. The cottage oozed charm and luxury, was light and airy and contained everything you could possibly need. You just knew the bed was going to be comfortable before you even got in it. Trish and Peter are wonderful hosts, genuinely delightful people, we were made to feel welcome the moment we arrived. Trish cooked us a yummy breakfast, freshly laid eggs, homemade jams,fruits from their orchard including the best tasting grapefruit ever. The gardens are stunning. Trish your roses are gorgeous. Ryland Estate is heavenly. The only regret we have is that we were only there one night, you definately need longer. Personally I could stay forever!
Heather and Tim Clarke, Australia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My one night stay at the Ryland Estate was a highlight in my two month trip to New Zealand. Every detail about the room was meticulously and carefully designed to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. I enjoyed the fresh fruit in the room, the decor, the quality of the linen, all carefully crafted to create an ambiance of relaxation and luxury. I should not sign off without mentioning the gourmet breakfast served in the main house by the hosts. This was by far the best and loveliest breakfast I have ever had. The table was exquisitely set and the food all freshly made including home made breads and pastries, jams, stewed fruit and omelet. I would have stayed several days had I had more time and I will go back on my next trip to New Zealand.

Madeleine Ménard
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband, son, daughter-in-law and 7 year old grandson spent five days at the Ryland Estate for Christmas. The apartment was beautifully furnished with many, many amenities. Our hosts Peter & Trish Taylor were delightful. Trish had our kitchen stocked with fresh eggs (from their hens), bread, cheese, yogurt, coffee, bacon, poached rhubard (Trish made), jams, jellies and so on. The apartment had fresh flowers from Trish's amazing gardens. And not to forget the wonderful cherries from their orchard! It was a perfect "home away from home" for our Christmas

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

After 2 days kayaking in the Abel Tasman this was the perfect place to relax and reload our battery. With great views on the orchard, fresh fruit on the table and in the fridge and a lovely better home away from home (ensuite bathroom for both the bedrooms) this place was heaven! I would recommend to everyone needing a relaxt place to stay in the Blenheim/Marlborourgh region.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Peter & Trish made our stay memorable and incredibly welcoming. Our boys loved the ride on mower and we loved the afternoon drinks overlooking the orchard chatting with our hosts and sharing traveling stories. The fruit from the orchard was divine and reminded us of how fruit tasted as a child. The accommodation was lovely, comfortable, with the added touches of home.
If you mention Greg & Penny from Sydney, I am sure Peter will play the spoons for you after a few wines!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011 via mobile

PEter and Trish are very friendly, helpful hosts. The fruit from the orchard is a delicious bonus, as is Trish's homemade jam for breakfast. The two bedroom apartment and double room attached to the house are beautifully decorated and feel very home-like and comfortable. There are lots of interesting activities nearby, as well as great restaurants and wineries.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryland Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryland Estate

Address: 92 Pauls Road, RD3, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryland Estate offers self contained accommodation set within our cherry and stone fruit orchards and overlooking our large garden. A tranquil retreat 15 minutes from Blenheim we're in the midst of Marlborough's finest vineyards and a short walk/cycle to many of our best cellar doors/restaurants. Enjoy breakfast prepared from our seasonal fruits and free range eggs. Trish would also be delighted to prepare a traditional New Zealand meal of local produce and wines to match. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ryland Estate Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryland Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.