We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely absorbing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre

Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre
79 Aerodrome Road, Blenheim 7272, New Zealand
(03) 579 1305
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Blenheim
Type: Museums, Cultural
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely absorbing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I visit this aviation heritage centre quite often with tour groups and always find it absorbing as I see and learn something new each time. It also is a place where people share their stories inspired by the exhibition. This is a very special place and if you are passing through Blenheim you must make a visit as it's a remarkable collection of memorabilia put together by a bunch of aviation enthusiasts.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    43
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Was totally blown away with this Aviation Centre. I have been to several other aviation museums but this one is definitely the best.
The models and scenes created were fantastic the models were so real like. It was very well set out. Can't wait for phase 2 to be opened. Don't miss this if you are in Blenheim, Its not just for men, I am female and enjoyed it and I noticed many children really enjoying it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Two hours wasn't enough for us! What an awesome collection of planes and memorabilia!! Every WWI ace imaginable and every plane represented here. The sets are fabulous and the whole place so pristine that it feels like brand new. I will be back for my third visit some time soon. Thanks Sir Peter Jackson and your amazing group of enthusiasts.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a very well laid out and organised attraction. It has a huge range of items from WWI with plans to expand to accommodate WWII items.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I can not recommend this museum highly enough particularly to those with more than a passing interest in aviation.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.