We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre

Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre
79 Aerodrome Road, Blenheim 7272, New Zealand
(03) 579 1305
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 46 things to do in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

An amazing museum filled with a world class array of WWI aeroplanes and fascinating memorabilia.
What a fabulous facility set adjacent to Omaka aerodrome.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    60
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding collection and display”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Heritage centre houses a world class collection of First World War I planes that have been displayed in wonderfully conceived settings. It also contains an amazing collection of memorabilia giving personal insight into the lives of the combatants and civilians during this period. It truly is unique and an experience not to be missed.
In addition there is the Biennual Omaka Airshow that is just fantastic. Flying dogfights of multiple WW I fighters followed by WW II fighters of all nations, whilst on the ground period correct soldiers, tanks and medical staff re-enact battle scenes. There are plenty of stalls and tasty food from around the world to make it 3 days of entertainment for the whole family. The firework display this year was spectacular!
We will definitely be there in 2015.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Recommended by our Motel host, and well worth the trip out to it. Well dislayed aircraft and a wealth of WW1 memorabilia. Great tableaux of life, and death, during the war, especially the 'Red Baron' set. It's really great to see Sir Peter Jackson personal collection and his influence on the static displays. We were very lucky the day we visited as we had a guided tour around the old 'Bristol' freight plane. Great value for money

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A MUST to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you are touring the wine region of Marlborough, this is one of the things you should see. To enter this museum makes you feel at the scene in World War 2

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great if you are an aviation enthusiast . . . .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Look my husband enjoyed it, my 6 y/o son drover me insane asking to leave within the first 5 minutes. The displays were well done but the focus was narrow. I think I would have given it a slightly higher rating of between poor and average if the price wasn't so high - sorry but I didn't think it was value for money at all.
And to top it off, the staff on the "sales desk" were fairly unhelpful, almost to the point of being rude on the day when all I asked for was one of their brochures that she had happily offered to the older couple in front of us. Oh, and then because we were 1 minute too late we weren't allowed to join the guided tour that was practically in front of us.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.