We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essential” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marlborough Farmers Market

Marlborough Farmers Market
24 Maxwell Road, Blenheim 7201 , New Zealand
(03) 579 3599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 Shopping in Blenheim
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Attraction details
Picton, Marlborough, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Essential”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Love the farmers markets weather in blenheim or the months when it is in picton i buy my olive oil here lusatori olive oil i find is the best for cooking healthy meals

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great fresh produce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Strawberries and figs in April... yum! Good to hear some local muso's playing too... it made for a great atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great array of quality local produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Had been wanting to visit here since my last holiday and finally made it this morning. Despite it being a terribly windy morning it was worth the visit. What did I buy - boysenberry medley (jam), garlic and cashew pesto, fresh strawberries, fresh blueberries, goats cheese, smoked almonds, coffee, kids sausage On bread, some yummy french pastry with chocolate and some fresh eggs. What did I leave behind - olive oils, fresh fish, pine nuts, venison salami, bread and a whole host of produce.

I was also impressed with the children's entertainment - the story teller, she was great.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting little market, lots of local produce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I liked the friendly stall holders who were keen for shoppers to try their homemade cheeses, jams or chutneys. Plenty of local extra virgin olive oil available for tasting, together with local lamb cuts, baked goods and ice creams. My favourite seasonal treats were on sale too - freshly picked baby broad beans.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shrinking market”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

It's winter but the number of stalls is shrinking noticeably and it's now hardly worth the visit. They also charge a fee for an EFTPOS transaction - the first time this has ever happened in this or any other country. Customer service? I think not. The good news is that the day old croissants etc sold at the main stall seem to have been ditched as a result of exposure in the media that this breaches Farmers Market rules. Better places to spend time around the region.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlborough Farmers Market also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Marlborough Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlborough Farmers Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.