We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great high class cuisine with local organic products” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Urville

Hotel d'Urville
52 Queen Street, Blenheim, New Zealand
+64 3-577 9945
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 82 Restaurants in Blenheim
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: D'Urvilles world-class seafood restaurant bar and grill serving the best local produce complemented by excellent local, national and international wines.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great high class cuisine with local organic products”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were there two evenings and enjoyed a high class cuisine .all products are locally sourced and both organic or bio and of high quality.All producers are known and explained.The service is very attentive and competent.All dishes of the menu were of excellent taste and well balanced and had the right delicacy.the wine list refers to the local vineyards of the region and represents also high quality.All in all a high class adress with a good relation of price and quality.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    47
    14
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“our favorite restaurant in Blenheim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The food is consistently good - well cooked and innovative. Its nice to go to a restaurant where you know it will be hard to choose because all the food is good. Marie, the chef, is well known for her expertise in NewZealand. Love the clam bisque, and the carafes of local wine are good and comparatively inexpensive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional food as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We eat regularly here and are never disappointed. Food is of a consistently high standard. Scallops were sublime and the clam bisque very good. Lamb was tender and the lentils with pomegranate molasses provided a wonderful accompaniment. Filet mignon cooked to perfection as were the frites. A Classic French dish! Service was efficient and we enjoyed good local wines, as always. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Thursday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Touted as place for top innovative cuisine

First we were expecting a rustic historic dining room which it wasn't

Then being in Marlborough we expected our server to be of some help with the local wines which she wasn't

Starters were good
Scallops and bisque

Boar was sent back - unable to be cut or chewed. Server was not readily accepting of this even at end of meal

Second choice of lamb was proper but the accompanying lentils were sickly with excess mint

Wife's ribeye seemed like an enzyme treated piece of meat with no flavour accompanied by macdonald clone fries and salt

Wine selections were good especially our Pinot and Merlot

Goes without saying we were deeply disappointed with our meal in wine country

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durvillemanager, General Manager at Hotel d'Urville, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed the scallops & clam bisque which are extremely popular. I am sorry that your mains were not enjoyed as much. The chef has passed your comments on to our supplier of wild boar and I can assure you that our steak is not enzyme treated and is sourced from Canterbury. We do offer a varied selection of both local and imported wines with the emphasis on locally produced varieties and you found a good pinot/merlot to accompany your meal. I am a little confused over your comments about the restaurant not being rustic or historic. The building is a conversion of a 1930's Public Trust building, built in the style of a bank. As an historic places trust building we are not allowed to compromise this look and have not done so. It still has the lofty high ceilings and original steel windows and native rimu floor. It is disappointing that you felt otherwise.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Divine!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Exceptional food, fantastic service and great ambiance. It was the perfect evening. We all loved it!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel d'Urville also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Hotel d'Urville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Urville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.