We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Urville

Hotel d'Urville
52 Queen Street, Blenheim, New Zealand
+64 3-577 9945
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 82 Restaurants in Blenheim
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: D'Urvilles world-class seafood restaurant bar and grill serving the best local produce complemented by excellent local, national and international wines.
Burton-on-Trent
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place was recommended to us by the owners of the place we were staying. The service was very good. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. The only complaint was that it was very noisy. It may be that there shoud be more soft furnishings to cut down that noise. However, there was a particularly noisy crowd at a nearby table - they won't always be in, so it's a place to go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    47
    14
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This meal was absolutely top notch! It was only the second night of our trip and we were certain we would be able to top it, but we were wrong. We started off with some amazing cocktails and had great wine with dinner. We order lamb and steak and shared both because they were so good. Their truffled mashed potatoes are excellent and all of their fresh vegetables taste fantastic. Everything from the meat to the sauce was spot on. The restaurant itself is elegant without being snooty and the staff was excellent. We had the best service of our entire trip! I highly recommend this for a romantic evening out with amazing food, wine, and service!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Bistro menu from 6-7.30pm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very good quality food and wines, which were all locally sourced. We were recommended the Bistro Menu as it gives you a great chance to sample the quality food they have on offer but not as huge portions. It was just what we needed after a day sampling cheeses, wine and seafood in the area before resting our weary heads.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice atmospere....the food was full of flavours and nicely presented...Me and and my friends all were happy

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

As it was our wedding aniversary I took my wife here for dinner.The restaurant is rated quite highly,but while we had no real complaints we found it rather average in both service (the waitress was a bit short with us)and food quality.Again nothing wrong with the food but we have had better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel d'Urville also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Hotel d'Urville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Urville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.