We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NZ Italian, Friendly, value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Bar & Restaurant

Dolce Bar & Restaurant
Level 1 The Forum | 11 Market Street, Blenheim, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 80 restaurants in Blenheim
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Phone number 03 579 3182
Restaurant details
Description: Phone number 03 579 3182
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“NZ Italian, Friendly, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Approached immediately we went up the stairs. Welcomed, taken to a nice table for two which was clan had table already set up. provided with menu and wine/drinks list and asked if we would like water.

As soon as this was delivered next waitress was enquiring about drink. Good selection of Glasses of wine as well as bottle. Once ordered these were delivered promptly.

Several families in restaurant and obviously many locals as several large parties being looked after.

Irrespective we were not forgotten, and had soon ordered. Sufficient time to appreciate our wine selection and the main courses arrived.

Good food. What I would call NZ Italian, rather than real italian, but very pleasant.

A pleasant meal was had and portions were quite generous. So much so that desserts were declined. the selection other than the creme caramel were all rather heavy. (other than the ice creams) .

All in all, it is what it says it is, a decent eating place, catering for all types with an Italian flavour. Good value, good service and resonably priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    8
    11
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A very satisfactory meal all round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The service was so good that as one waitress handed us the menus, another approached and asked us whether we'd decided yet. This was typical of good and attentive service, without it being over-bearing.
The starter, bread & dips, was delicious, and perhaps a bit filling. The main courses were very good too, though there was a suggestion by one of our party that their pizza was a bit soggy underneath. The extra chips we'd ordered for the children were plentiful and very tasty, and the desserts excellent.
All in all, it was a very good meal, just what we'd wanted for our last evening in New Zealand, and probably at the best restaurant the little town of Blenheim has to offer.
One little suggestion which we hope the restaurant's management will pick up if they read this review: the toilets do need checking at intervals during the course of an evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice place, right downtown, upstairs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were hungry, it was late on a Saturday, and the cafe seemed to be open - as it's up above some shops and doesn't have particularly brilliant signage or lighting, we weren't sure. However, the waitress was very friendly and we were served very generous portions of good Italian food. Inside seemed a bit noisy for two crusty old noise-sensitive grumps like us, so we happily ate out on the balcony.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

In fact this was the best pizza I've had in years, good base (not too crispy around the edges) and with lots of tasty toppings.

Not only that but the portions are large and the bread and dip starter was huge and fresh.

This is not fine dining but a good family restaurant and ideal for a few friends to get together as we did.

Highly recommended

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blenheim NZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wood fired Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Pizzas are cooked on a wood fire and very nice. We went with a large group and service was slow due to the limitations of the pizza oven. Also very noisy. concrete floors etc and very little soft furnishings to deaden noise.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Dolce Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.