We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch outing on the estuary with Will and Vix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Ecotours Limited

Driftwood Ecotours Limited
749 Dillons Point Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
64 3 5777 651
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in Blenheim
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Driftwood Eco-tours is operated by Will Parsons, whose family has farmed in Marlborough since the 1870s. Will has extensive local knowledge and personal contacts allowing you access to a 2200 hectare wildlife park. Tours are by 4WD vehicle, kayaking or hiking and cater your party exclusively.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“top notch outing on the estuary with Will and Vix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a very entertaining and interesting outing and saw lots of wildlife. Will photography tips much appreciated by myself being a beginner with my camera but got lots of great shots.Will delightful little dog Vix accompanied us enthusiastically and is trained very well not to interfere with the birdlife.We returned at dusk having had a wonderful trip. We will return some day with more camera batteries!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Three days round Mralborough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Will took our party of 8 on a 3-day tour from Murchison up the Rainbow Valley to Hanmer and then back to Blenheim, with Will providing lunches and transport. We had a great time, with Will providing an entertaining and informative commentary on the ecology, geology and history of the area. The Rainbow is a must-see, starting in a forest of huge beech trees and slowly climbing until there's not a tree in sight. If the outdoors and back country is your thing then I recommend this company for an enjoyable and memorable trip at a very reasonable price.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect kayaking trip for bird watching!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I did a kayaking trip on the river, it was beautiful! We saw lots of birds at close range. The kayaking is very easy since you can go with the current of the tide, therefore you can just enjoy your surrounding. Vix the little dog went kayaking as well and sat on my kayak, which was very funny. Doing the way back at night time was a very special experience!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“An amazing opportunity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Myself and a few members of the Marlborough Camera Club, went on a fun filled trip with Will kayaking. And what fun we had! Kayaking the wetland was a great experience one I would love to repeat in the future. The only thing better than the Kayaking was Will's home baking! If you like great muffins, great company and a sense of the outdoors that doesn't involve hiking for 10 years, Book with Driftwood!

P.S Vix, the tour dog is a wee darling!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Go with the flow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband Nigel and I (novice kayakers) did the evening kayak trip with Will. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience, which I would suggest is very typically "Kiwi". (We have been living in NZ for 3 years, originally from Wales). There is no prescription to this trip so embrace it and make it your own. Will allows you to just go at your own pace ... enjoy periods of silence or chat and share stories/ observations as you paddle along. Don't take it too seriously - it's pretty funny when (in my case) arm & feet in-coordination caused me to zig-zag a bit more than was completely necessary. The home baking done by Will is awesome and Vicks the dog was a welcome forth member of the group. Paddling back as the sun was setting over the hills was magical. Yes, slightly sore shoulders the following day, but 100% worth it!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Ecotours Limited also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Driftwood Ecotours Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Ecotours Limited, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.