We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Admirals Motor Lodge

Admirals Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Admirals Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Admirals Motor Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   161 Middle Renwick Road, Blenheim 7420, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Blenheim
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Friendly but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have stayed in room 18 and 19, both rooms were clean.

The hosts are very welcoming, but the room are very dated.

The showers were good but overall bathroom size too small with tiny bathroom sink along the side of the toilet.

The bathrooms need to be double the size and these rooms could accomodate that given the overall size of the rooms.

The WIFI scheme (through Zenbu hotspot) is a total rip-off as mentioned by other reviewers and difficult to log onto.

When I complained the owners also let me use a cable to their internet and provided log in codes for free, I am happy with how they responded to difficulties with WIFI but really this system needs to be improved.

Value for money? I expect more for the $105-$110 per night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
15
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We purposefully chose a budget room at this motel - the cheapest studio room at $105. We were not disappointed with the service and value. The room was very spacious and well served with facilities. The hosts were at pains to explain it was the budget room but there was nothing lacking from our perspective. And we were delighted with the helpfulness of the hosts too. They stored our bikes in one of their meeting rooms. And they pointed out lots of places of interest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in one of the king studios (number 5) which had a spa bath as well as a separate shower. From the outside the units all look very modern, but I shouldn't think they have been updated for 15 years. Having said that, they were clean and spacious. There was parking right outside, a good shower and a full kitchen, which these days is getting more and more difficult to find. This is budget accommodation, so if you are looking for something fancy, you are in the wrong place. The WIFI scheme (through Zenbu hotspot) is a total rip-off - $5 lasted for 15 minutes, but when we complained the owners let me use a cable to their internet so I could book further accommodation for the next leg of our journey. All in all - you get what you pay for. There is a 24 hour petrol garage next door and we could hear doors slamming as cars pulled up for petrol, as the back windows of the unit overlooked the garage forecourt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had the three bedroom unit which has a large living space and kitchen as well as the three bedrooms. Can comfortably sleep 7. For the price we paid we think we got excellent value. The kids loved the pool, swing and gold fish pond. We had other family members staying at this motel and another one nearby at the same time. We were all able to meet up in our large unit to have a family dinner (there were 18 of us altogether). The location was good for visiting local attractions. The staff were helpful - giving directions and maps. They also stored our luggage before we checked in as we arrived early.

Room Tip: For families there are two choices - a two bedroom with two bathrooms or a three bedroom with one ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed the Admirals Motor Lodge for 4 days, the room was a studio room but a very large studio room, plenty of space for all our gear. The Bed was comfortable the room was clean with loads of light in it. Although maybe quite dated it had everything we needed.

the winery tour left from the front door. There was a nice swimming pool a good laundry most important when staying for a few days,
The owners were very friendly and helpful, and came over to talk to you if you were outside. Overall a good stay, close to many wineries. Thank you Garry and Lorna

Room Tip: As for the large studios but they are not near the pool it is round the back of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment which was great as there were 3 of us. Nice and quiet at the back of the complex. Friendly hosts very welcoming on arrival and helpful. Need stronger light in the bathrooms over the mirrors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The rooms were quite spacious but the decor was a bit dated. More attention to the cleaniness of all rooms especially the bathroom - mould not a nice sight in shower. Also pantry not as clean as it should have been. Wished I hadn't pulled the bed away from the wall as not a pleasant sight to see. Would not stay again, shame as photos of complex tell a different story.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Admirals Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admirals Motor Lodge

Address: 161 Middle Renwick Road, Blenheim 7420, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admirals Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Admirals Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals Motor Lodge Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admirals Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.