We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but slooow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Veranda

La Veranda
56 Vintage Lane | RD3, Blenheim, New Zealand
03 572 9177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 80 restaurants in Blenheim
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: French, Café, Bistro, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: La Veranda is part of the Georges Michel Estate complex, where visitors can choose a selection of wine tasting ‘flights’, matched with French degustation plates. For example, enjoy four of our Golden Mile wines featuring Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Rose, with a plate of imported French cheeses or a selection of French ‘charcuterie’.Nestled amongst the vines and bathed in Marlborough’s prolific sunshine, La Veranda is the perfect venue to rest and relax in a very special ambiance, either indoors or outdoors.
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Good food but slooow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were on our way from Abel Tasman to Kaikoura, and had read some good reviews in our guide, so we decided to stop there for a quick lunch with a glass of wine. Indeed, the food was fine and the atmosphere quite nice.
We arrived there around 1pm, on the day after Boxing Day. Maybe that's the reason why there was not enough staff (oddly enough, it seems there were 2 people in the room next door selling wine bottles that were basically doing nothing and that could probably have helped out in the restaurant) . The 2 ladies handling the service for the whole restaurant (including cashing in the checks) were running non-stop to wait the tables, but it was apparently not enough as it took a very long time to get the "plat du jour" (we were given a heads up, though, but did hope it would get better as already some people were leaving). But indeed, it took a very long time (didn't check my watch, but probably close to 40 m)... Food was simple but good, wine too, price reasonable (about 20 dollars / dish) but when we asked for some desert we were told that it would take another 40 mn (to get the single choice they offer, really?) so we had to give up and leave with a half full stomach (and a cup of coffee, but no espresso).
All in all, not a bad experience, but not up to our expectations. I would recommend you only go there if you're ready to spend a lot of time, and in that case try to arrive early so that you can sit outdoor and enjoy the scenery.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieYonge, Guest Relations Manager at La Veranda, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your posting regarding our service during your visit. We do apologise for the wait you had. Unfortunately you visited on what probably was the busiest day of the holiday period and we acknowledge that we were under-staffed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    15
    10
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, NZ
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend the afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We chose a nice sunny day to ride our bikes the 13km from Blenheim out to La Verandah for some lunch and a glass of vine.

Upon our arrival we were almost ignored for the first 15 minutes, the lady running the restaurant was busy with a big group wine tasting, unfortunately she was the only one there. She palmed us off with a splash (tasting size) of wine. After waiting 15 minutes for someone to come out to us I walked in and spoke directly with the chef to order a meal.

Another 15 minutes (which isn't bad for food prep - but quite long with no wine, water or service at all). As the meal was served, the other group left, the lady suddenly appeared, with wine lists, brought out our wine and was very attentive.

The food was fantastic; we chose two platters and were well and truely filled up with yummy local (and French based) delights.

Sitting on the outside deck area in the sun, looking out across the vineyards towards the hills in the sun was great.

Overall a nice lunch at a good price, but could easily have been a five star experience with a bit more effort (if you're going to be open for lunch and for wine tasting you should make sure you've good enough staff to do it).

I would recommend it

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieYonge, Guest Relations Manager at La Veranda, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review posted 22 September. Please accept our apologies for the poor service you received. Unfortunately our chef/maitre 'd was unwell and away at that time and we were short staffed. We are pleased you enjoyed your food and the surroundings and our thanks for your recommedation. Please visit again some time so we can provide our usual five star service !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good quality food reasonable priced, amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Very relaxed, amazing french food, good service with amazing views of vineyards

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simple food, stunning service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Food is simple and unpretentious. Keenly priced and excellent value. Rudy is a host par excellence. Better for light snacks rather than a hearty repast.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“La Verandah is La Veranda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Apparently there are two names for one restaurant.
La Verandah and La Veranda are the same restaurant on Georges Michel Wine Estate, located on 56 Vintage lane, RD3 Blenheim

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Veranda also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to La Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.