We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve & Donna Wigg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 171 on High Motel

Save Saved
You added 171 on High Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
171 on High Motel
Cnr of Percy & High Streets, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in Blenheim
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Steve & Donna Wigg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We can not speak more highly of this motel, both myself & my wife stay here for business in the region ,we find the hosts very accommodating and professional the rooms are very clean,bright & spacious we would recommend this motel to anyone wish to stay in the region both business & tourist alike, as 171 on High deliverers to the highest level in motel accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi We enjoy having you both staying here at 171 On High and look forward to catching up with you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    39
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
67
14
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this motel, some of the friendliest service we have had. The management always had a smile and a hello if they saw you around and check in and out were easy and pleasant. The room was very clean with even a service after only one night. Plenty of pillows and fresh towels. Great amenities meant a quick meal could be prepared which saved us some money along the way. Very convenient and close to town. Would definitely stay again if ever in Blenheim.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at 171 On High. We are so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially that you found the facilities and location met your expectations. Hopefully we wil see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Great motel, ideally situated within walking distance of the town centre. Accommodation was clean and comfortable, and all amenities were in good order We will definitely put this motel on our list of places to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello Thank you for your review and your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Blenheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We can not speak more highly of this Motel. So friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem. I am always impressed at the cleanliness of the rooms which adds to the pleasure of your stay. Other accomodation providers could benefit from a trip to this motel to see the right way to look after guests. We will be back again......and again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks very much for your positive comments. It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to Marlborough and we're so glad that you enjoyed your last stay with us! We strive to have the units looking the way we would like to see them if we were guests coming in, so we're pleased that you speak so highly of our standards. Thanks heaps - we look forward to catching up again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We (2 couples) stayed in a 2 bedroom unit for 2 nights. The unit was spacious, with a HUGE king-sized comfortable bed in our room. The unit was also very clean, modern and comfortable, and included a small kitchenette with all utensils supplied to cook simple meals. The bathroom was roomy and very clean with lovely soft fluffy towels. There was also a small outdoor area for our unit. Owners Ian and Chris were wonderful - very friendly and accommodating, with excellent suggestions for seeing the local area, restaurants and wineries. The motel is very well-situated - an easy 5-10 minute flat walk into town. Other friends stayed in a double room which had a spa - perfect for recovering after doing the lovely Queen Charlotte Sound Walk. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi & thanks very much for your fabulous review of our motel here in Blenheim. We very much appreciate both the fact that you chose to stay with us and then took the time to post a review.
It was our pleasure to have you stay. Cheers..........Ian & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at 171 on High for a night on our way through the region.
The room was very clean and tidy, and well finished. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of everything within the unit.
The manager was very helpful and informative, and the location was excellent.
We would difinitely use this motel again when returning to Blenheim.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Wonderful friendly couple with helpful ideas of where to go and what to see but not overly intrusive or pushy. Easy wonder into town for dinner (about 10mins or so). Comfortable beds and all the mod cons. Without a car and with time to kill before we were due to leave, we left all our belongings with Ian knowing they'd be perfectly safe and secure. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 171 on High Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 171 on High Motel

Also Known As:
171 On High Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Address: Cnr of Percy & High Streets, Blenheim, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#1 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#3 Family Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MODERN, STYLISH & CENTRAL - FREE Wi-Fi connected to Fibre. LCD TV's,DVD players and cooking facilities in every unit,some with some single spa baths. Sparkling clean, well equipped rooms, serviced daily. BBQ available for guest use. Located just 5min/500m to shops, restaurants and cafes. 700m to Marlborough Conference Centre. Qualmark Motel 4+ Stars. Ideally located for visits to the famous Marlborough wineries, Omaka Aviation Heritage Museum and The Marlborough Sounds. Warm & friendly southern hospitality. Your hosts Ian & Chris look forward to welcoming you to 171 On High. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 171 on High Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 171 on High Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.