We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, natural and would go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maruia Springs Thermal Resort Ltd

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maruia Springs Thermal Resort Ltd
Save
You added Maruia Springs Thermal Resort Ltd to your Saves list
State Highway 7 Lewis pass, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #605 of 712 Hotels in South Island
new zealand
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Relaxing, natural and would go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were travelling and just stopped here for a soak in the pools. They are natural and unfiltered and set in lovely mountain scenery. We enjoyed the outdoor pools, cold plunge pool and snow. But I think the place is a bit tired and two of the outside pools were on the cool side. So everyone was in a small hot pool. There are private pools but we didnt use these. The bathhouse is segregrated into ladies and men and dress optional. The bathhouse soak pool didnt look good with scum on top and wasnt warm enough. But the showers great, use three at once for best effect. It was very expensive for our family of 4 $76. And some work needed to be done to clear the very icy steps to pools. The cafe was actually very good. The sushi, rice balls and food was well priced and tasty. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner and other bathers told us it was very nice. An enjoyable experience in the snow and a more authentic experience than the more commercial hot pools in Hanmer. But a bit tired.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    24
    15
    33
See reviews for
18
88
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had private spa first for 45 mins which is like a bath/jacuzzi. Then massage and then in public hot springs out in the open surrounded by scenery of mountains. Beautiful experience.

Spa not immaculate and new but does not matter, it's worth going.

Next time we would stay overnight and pay for package with 3 course dinner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were given a voucher to stay there and enjoyed the public hot pools, although too many people in there at the time! dinner was lovely and the landscape is very nice but as accommodation, didnt think is a good value for money, the rooms are very low key and looking rather tired. Service was OK.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Took an indulgence package which included dinner, breakfast, massage, private pool session and access to the public pools. A totally relaxing night away. The food was good. The resort is getting a little tired but still represents good value for money

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

My partner & I went for a weekend getaway. The staff were very friendly and more than willing to be of service. As others have reviewed the rooms do need to be upgraded. The food was amazing. The portions were huge. We loved that we could walk around everywhere in our yakata's. It is a nice place to unwind as you have no phones, tv or computers. We would probably head back but more for the food than the pools themselves.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

What a wonderful way to start a holiday! We only spent one night here, but everything about it was wonderful. Don't come here looking for a luxurious 5 star spa experience, but if what you want a great Shiatsu massage, great food a great soak and a quiet comfortable bed, this is the place for you. The place has a real rustic charm. It has been around in one for or another for over 100 years. The current owners have been gradually turning it into an authentic japanese bathhouse. We could not be more happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were told that there were only vacancies for the Indulgence Package despite the fact that once there we found the place was almost deserted. When checking in they requested payment up front - clever as the room was very 4th rate with a shabby shower room (no bath). This place is in dire need of upgrading and gives tourists a poor idea of the normally excellent standard of motels in New Zealand. On signing in we had to choose a time for dinner. 6:30 was fully booked and we were offered 6:00 or 7:00. The meal was OK and we finished well after 6:30 by which time there were only two other couples in the dining room .
Seedy would be the best word I can think of to sum up the motel. The room had a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities with the minimum of supplies. Everything was cheap and worn though clean. The room was infested with sandflies as were the "gardens". Placed that word in inverted commas as apart from cutting the grass no maintainance is done and the "garden" is a neglected mess with dangerous steps and pathways. The shiatsu massage was good and the private spa pool sandfly free and private with a window looking towards the tree covered mountain. The open pools were infested with sandflies and two weeks later the bites still cause irritation. Breakfast was OK but we were desperate to get out of there. Do yourself a favour and skip this place unless they upgrade.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money - go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maruia Springs Thermal Resort Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruia Springs Thermal Resort Ltd

Address: State Highway 7 Lewis pass, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in South Island
#54 Spa Hotel in South Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Maruia Springs Thermal Resort Ltd Hotel South Island
Maruia Springs Thermal Hotel Ltd

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maruia Springs Thermal Resort Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.