We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ivory Towers

Ivory Towers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ivory Towers to your Saves list
Ivory Towers
Sullivans Road, Fox Glacier, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #523 of 712 Hotels in South Island
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

At this stage this was my best backpackers...the rooms were ok..but the kitchen was well equipped & plenty of room, whilst others were also cooking...it was very chilled..the bathroom was clean & ok...i certainly would have stayed longer & would recommend! I found the staff ok...but not the best i had experienced on my travels...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
17
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed in this hostel for one week and wished I had stayed longer. The owner and his son Sam were great people. The rooms were simple but comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped.
A few 'wow' factors made this hostel very special to me:
- the owner's playlist was amazing (a few thousands tunes of very good music).
- the cinema room at the back.
- the hot tub at the edge of the rainforest
- the views from the upstairs bedrooms and looking at the kakapos flying around.
- there's a glow-worms wood trail right beside the hostel.
Also it is a great spot to explore this part of the West Coast. The hikes and trails around Fox are unbelievable. Whereas most people recommend Franz Joseph, I would rather recommend to stay in Fox...it is more quiet but also more authentic. Met some great people there.

Room Tip: Upstairs double rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Got more than we bargained for with the room which was great! Good facilities and a comfortable room! However.. Staff a little bit miserable on arrival? And questionable about whether the sheets actually get changed? Saw staff make the beds but just remade the ones we had slept in rather than changing them for the next people?? Other than that, good value for money!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

The positive was that the staff was nice, knew the village and was able to recommend good restaurants etc..

The bedrooms are very responsive. During the night both television and washing machine started from staff space, we banged into the wall, but they simply lowered the volume somewhat. The kitchen was dirty and the stoves worked very poorly.

We left in our clothes for wash, but the underwear came back and was still not clean, had to hand wash them myself,

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Located 30 seconds from local shop. Quiet area as the town is really a street. The hostel was quite large with many rooms and one main kitchen that catered easily for all. Room was spacious and staff were friendly even when I managed to set the fire alarm off making sausages. Hundreds of movies available to rent with a small deposit and a home cinema system that allowed you to watch with ease. Only there two nights but what we saw we enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It's a very nice hostel, I stayed there as a woofer for one week and enjoyed it very much!! Even though it's a place in New Zealand where it rains a lot. The hostel has a good location to the little supermarket in the village, it's 6 km to the mirror lake where you can see Mt. Cook and 6 km to the Fox Glacier. Both of those ways are okay for a long walk (when it's not raining).

The Hostel got a TV room, a nice lounge with a fireplace, a SPA (!) from which you can spot the stars at night time, a sauna and clean dorm rooms but also double beds and family rooms! The stuff is very nice and helpful!

The kitchen is very well equiped and big so there is still space even in the peak times for cooking.

When you're staying at Fox Glacier you should definitely stay in this awesome hostel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed one night to be able to go next morning to the Fox Glacier. The place was ok, but not great. It was also not bad, but nothing spectacular. Although I like the lounge area separated from the kitchen. The room average and I think there were not much enough showers, but waking up early will always help you solve that problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivory Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivory Towers

Address: Sullivans Road, Fox Glacier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #523 of 712 Hotels in South Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ivory Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivory Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.