We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Yum Cha” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Restaurant

Regal Restaurant
Courtney Place, Wellington, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #204 of 697 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the best Yum Cha”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

After seeing excellent ratings on Trip Advisor we took a German friend to Regal for her first ever Yum Cha. The atmosphere was great-very buzzy- and the service was prompt. The dishes were disappointing, all a monochrome greyish colour, and most were very oily. In our 70 minutes at the table we were only offered sweet dishes once (immediately after we sat down) . The small custard tarts looked nice, but we never saw them again

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good value Yum Cha”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Book a day ahead to get guaranteed seats. Choose between 11am or 12:30pm start. Dishes are $4 to $5 each, which is really good value. The pork siumai, seafood dimsum and seafood roll are very good. They have a good range of dishes served by nice staff. Atmosphere can be chaotic on a Sunday, so prepare for some noise and movement. The place is very family friendly.

I gave it an average rating because some of my favourite usual yum cha dishes were not served like spring roll or salt & pepper squid. And cashier will not split your bill.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Peking Duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had our dinner here on a wednesday night, but we still felt it was safer to book in advance and we pre ordered our peking duck with the pancakes. We were seated and 10 mins after, the duck came and so did our other dishes. Best Peking Duck and best Duck in crispy noodles nest ever. Also try the spicy pork ribs. You will be blown away. Very tasty, very authentic, very reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yum cha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We love our Chinese yum cha and occasional dinner.Regal for yum cha is always crazy busy on weekends so reservation is a must but you still have to be prepared to wait a few minutes to be seated.Despite of this,it is worth it for the food which is consistent in taste and quality and they are accommodating to get whenever we ask for something they haven't got out on the round yet.
Check it out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Regal Restaurant- The best Yum Char in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This restaurant is always packed for Yum char on weekends. It pays to book or you will land up standing in the queue. The Yum Char here is pretty authentic and certainly the best that we have tried of all of the restaurants in Wellington. Their prices are pretty reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regal Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Regal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.