We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was Delish and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Satay Kingdom

Satay Kingdom
Cuba Mall, Wellington, New Zealand
04 381 3730
Improve this listing
Ranked #258 of 652 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Was Delish and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Great place, down a little "alley" off Cuba St. Food was tasty, mains were $10'ish and were large servings (leaving us with food to take home for later)!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Attracted by the crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were in Wellington for an overnight stay and had been sent to Cuba Mall as a must-see visit (not entirely convinced!). As we walked around looking for somewhere to eat, we noticed that Satay Kingdom was packed with a diverse range of customers even though everywhere else was relatively empty. Choice made, we went in. The restaurant does not have a bar, which we weren't prepared for, but the food was excellent - very tasty, served quickly, plentiful and great value. Yes, the decor is rubbish and the tables/chairs basic, but I'd go back time and time again if I lived/worked nearby.
Go for it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“amazing malaysian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

very very tasty, and cheap even does BYO beer!! havent found any other malaysian nearly as good

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The best cheap eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011 via mobile

This is my favorite cheap asian place - the seafood laksa has plenty of seafood in it and only cost 10.50 - you don't get the quality for that price anywhere else.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

For the price, this place is unbeatable. The sambal fish is superb, the roti are some of the best in Wellington. But try the tom yun gang, too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satay Kingdom also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Satay Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satay Kingdom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.