We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel to stay in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Cuba Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel to stay in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I come to Wellington on a regular basis and the first time I was put up in the hotel, I fell in love with the place - the service is great, the food is great, the spa and pool is fabulous and th room is so comfortable and spacious. I loved it so much that I request that I be put up in the hotel every time I am in Wellington. The staff have also learned NZSL and have used it to communicate with me, as I am Deaf. I always look forward to the next time I stay there and it is so convenient to three of my favourite cafes!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Good morning Kellye,
Gracious greetings from Wellington! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to write us this wonderful review! We are pleased to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us and that you find your favourite Wellington hotel!
We look forward to welcoming you again in a very near future! Please contact us directly and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind regards
Olivier LACOUA
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    105
    51
    10
    4
See reviews for
73
92
9
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying in hotels in Wellington for years, but only recently came across this one. Wish I'd discovered it a long time ago. Very friendly staff, great room, was quiet the night I stayed. I loved the spa, I loved the location. This location is so much better than hotels on The Terrace where I normally stay. It's a funky place and I just love being just a few steps from Cuba Street. I recommend it. I'll be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Kay W,
Thank you for taking valuable time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable time with us and that you found the location and facilities to your liking.
We look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you again in a very near future at CQ Hotels Wellington
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Awesome location, and service extremly good best hotel lve stayed at in wellington. Rooms beautiful, spacious and very clean. Easy to find if you are travelling from south. Excellent restaurant food lovely top notch service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear RoscoTaranaki,
Thank you for taking valuable time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable time with us and that you found the location and facilities to your liking. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future!
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Really good. Large spacious room. Decent sized TV. Good beds. Very good sized work bench/desk set-up with lots of plugs to charge lap-tops, Phones etc; which was great as I took a bit of work with me to complete at night. The pool was a great temperature. Breakfast was good. Service was fine. An all-round thumbs up. A bit dearer than some, not as dear as others - but worth the extra in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Anthony
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our 4 star plus hotel is a great option for business travellers like you who like spacious space and desk to work. I am glad to read that you find our hotel facilities of a very good value, thank you. Our team will be pleased to hear your positive feedback – they work very hard to provide quality food and service to our guests. Thank you again for your comments, and we shall hope to see you back again in a near future.
Kind regards
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The apartments were in a great location, we had a room that faced inland not out to the bay. The steps were a pain heading up and down stairs, bit overall comfortable. The main issue was when we went to have a shower in the morning there was no shower head so we got drowned having a shower. I would have thought house cleaning would have picked this up. We notified reception as we checked out in the morning, and they apologised, but there was no follow up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Good morning Jane G,
Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as the apartment facilities. I have also taken careful note of your comment in regards to the missing shower head and I asked the team to be more vigilant when replacing such items in the bathroom. We strive to ensure that all rooms and bathrooms are checked prior to our guest’s arrival as a quality control measure and in this instance it seems not to have been the case; please accept my sincerest apologies.
I am very glad to read that you find your stay comfortable overall and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the future.
Kind regards
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is in a very convenient location, close to buses and Oxford Street which has lots of restaurants. The area is a little shady at night so if you are a female travelling alone just be cautious. I stayed for four nights and on my second night I went to the front desk to ask a question. The wonderful woman at the desk asked how my stay was and I said it was good but the room felt a bit depressing since I looked onto the "courtyard" aka surrounded by tall buildings and concrete so I had no sunlight whatsoever. She offered to move me to another room without me even asking! My next room had a lot more sunlight and a great view. The rooms still felt a bit cold though as the walls are all concrete and the overhead lighting is harsh. The temperature was cold too even with the AC off! The bed was comfy but the showers in both of my rooms need an overhaul. I would recommend this hotel because of its good value but it's not perfect!

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard rooms. I stayed in room 111 and it was so dark even when it was a bright and sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Good morning Laura,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, the service provided by the Front Office team. I am sure that your reference about the restaurants means in fact about Cuba Street, which has a lots of bars, cafes and restaurant indeed. I look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location - Cuba Street is excellent for eating out, although restaurants get very busy on Fridays and Saturdays, and the hotel is close to the waterfront, Te Papa, etc. The grandchildren thought the pool the best feature! Rooms include a fully-equipped kitchen area, although the nearest supermarket is a drive away. 30 minutes free wi-fi per night with a code from reception.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms overlook the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Good morning Deejay16,
Thank you so much for your fantastic comment; I am glad to read that you and your grandchildren enjoyed your stay and the hotel facilities, especially with the pool!
I look forward to welcoming you again in a very near future
Kind regards
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Wellington

Address: 223 Cuba Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CQ Wellington is a unique complex with an exceptional personality. Ideally located on the doorstep of all the restaurants, bars, shopping and attractions for which Wellington is renowned for. Just a 10 minute walk down vibrant Cuba Street to the Wellington waterfront and Te Papa, and only 20 minutes to the Wellington Railway Station and Westpac Stadium. Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus, this modern property within the CQ complex offers hotel suites and apartments that exude style with a relaxed ambience. The Quality Hotel suites boast some of the largest hotel rooms in Wellington (32m2) and are all equipped with kitchenettes and chic bathrooms. Our CQ Executive Apartments have floor to ceiling windows for abundant natural light and are split over two levels; perfect for families, groups or colleagues sharing. It's no wonder the Quality Hotel Wellington was named one of the top 9 Quality Hotels in the world by Choice International in 2012! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quality Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.