We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Central but quiet - hard to beat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
11 Austin Street | Mt Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Wellington B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, Central but quiet - hard to beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had the "Garden Suite", which consists of a bedroom with a queensize bed and a built in wardrobe, a bathroom with a full bath and a combined room for living and dining with a small kitchen. The kitchen is well equipped as well with microwave, mini-oven and 2 gas hot plates.
Our host Zarli, is very friendly and provides helpful hints and tipps for your stay in Wellington.
On the terrace and in the small garden in front of the appartment, you can enjoy the sun, read or do nothing.
If y ou stay more than two nights the guest laundry is complementary, otherwise available for a small amount. Zarli is happy to assist wherever he can. Even your own phone with a separate number and complementary local land line calls is available.
Overall it will be difficult to find a better accommodation in Wellingtion, which is that lovely, just five minutes walk to Courtenay Place and quiet at the same time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Austinvilla is THE place to stay in Wellington. If you want privacy in a quiet location this is the place for you. Our host, Zarli, was very friendly and full of information about the city. The apartment was extremely clean and very comfortable. There is a combination living room, dining room and kitchen with a view of the city in the front part of the apartment. The bathroom was large with a tub/shower combination. We always had plenty of hot water. The bedroom was spacious with a comfortable bed, great pillows and a heated mattress pad. There is a washer and dryer for guests to use. The garden outside the apartment was inviting and well manicured. Austinvilla is in a great location, close to downtown, the waterfront and a myriad of restaurants. As the other reviews mentioned it is at the top of a hill and there are stairs to reach the apartment. We highly recommend Austinvilla and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 nights staying in the Garden Suite. Our Host was a gentlemen and nothing seemed to much trouble. The room and facilities were as described on the website and everything was clean and the suite was spacious. We enjoyed the location of it and the breakfast provisions were more the adequate. Overall a lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in the studio and found it to be exactly as described on the website and perfect for our
three day stay. The location is first rate, just ten minutes downhill to the waterfront (fifteen back - it's quite a steep hill) and a ten minute drive to the airport. The breakfast provided is pretty good as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed in the garden suite for 4 nights, with our 6year old daughter. This place was perfect for us! It is very clean,in a quiet street and situated just 10min walk from center Wellington.
We loved having the little garden for ourselves. This brings a lot of light in the apartment.
Also good to have a parking spot in one of the garage. We were also able to use the washing machine, free of charge, situated in the private section of the house.
Wellington is a great city, If we go back, we surely book this B&B again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Disclaimer: A drop-down section requires that you enter a date of stay. It only goes back one year. Our stay was in March 2009, NOT October 2010.

Tired of staying in the Cuba Quarter (as we had on previous visits), we wanted someplace quieter, yet within walking distance to town, and near to our friend who lives in Hataitai. This property fit the bill - charming, private, quiet, clean and well-appointed. We stayed in the Studio Suite. It is self-contained, small and cozy-comfortable for two, but well laid out so you could entertain a guest(s) in the dining/living room area and not feel like you were in the bedroom. (Note: if you require a bit more privacy, the Garden Suite would probably be more to your liking as it has a separate bedroom.)

An ample continental breakfast is provided. I recall having eggs available, but we may have well picked them up ourselves at the market. (Over our month-long holiday, I developed a taste for 3-minute eggs, soldier fingers and Marmite 8D.)

They have off-street carpark available which was very much appreciated. Trying to find street parking on Mount Victoria is like trying to find parking in most neighborhoods of San Francisco, ie, difficult. Although we didn't hire a car, it was available to our friend so he could easily drive up to visit.

We stayed 4 or 5 nights. Zarli was a warm and wonderful host, making us feel very welcome. I don't recall there being any restrictions using the wifi as previous posters have mentioned, but then we weren't there to download movies onto our computer or "Watch Instantly" on Netflix.

Word of caution: The stairs from the street to the house are rather steep and were not wheelchair accessible at the time we were there. Also, the property is not suitable for children. If neither is an issue, be prepared for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Austinvilla for five days of our honeymoon. It is a quiet, comfortable B&B halfway up the hillside of Mount Victoria, just a few minutes' walk from Wellington's bustling downtown. We loved it there; the Garden Suite has a private entrance and is entirely self-contained. It became our own little retreat, and we were very happy there.

Zarli, our host, is very helpful and friendly, with maps and advice for seeing the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Austin Street | Mt Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Mt Victoria's elegant turn-of-the-century villas with its leafy garden setting and historic residential neighbourhood, Austinvilla B&B offers you the charming character and relaxed comfort of a real home. No need to share facilities here as our two fully-equipped, self-contained apartments let you enjoy the peace and privacy of your own space to unwind in. Superbly located just minutes walk from the vibrant central city precinct and local attractions, Austinvilla is your perfect base from which to explore Wellington. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.