We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view - average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bach

The Bach
410 The Esplanade, Wellington, New Zealand
+64 4-383 5108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 652 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Welcome to The Bach Cafe! Come join us for great coffee, sweet treats, hearty meals and stunning South Coast scenery. So many reasons to visit The Bach Cafe! Our location is aaaamazing - between Owhiro and Island Bay the rugged South Coast setting is a view you'll never grow tired of! Parking is plentiful, huge natural playgound with the rockpools for the kids. We pride ourselves on providing hearty meals, delicious sweet treats, (our Gluten Free Bach Brownie is a favourite!), great coffee, and warm friendly service. A lazy afternoon out on our deck with a cool cider & platter - what more could you want!? With our location so unique,the team at The Bach host many special occasions and group events. We also offer The Bach for hire/exclusive use in the evenings for your function.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice view - average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We went to The Bach for breakfast, the weather was windy - no surprises there ..., the views are spectacular of the rough ocean and the snow capped Kaikoura mountains in the distance. I wish the food were as good. We had the "Big Breakfast " which was a little disappointing. One small peice of toast under the eggs, half a tomato, a small sausage, & what tasted like creamed mushrooms from a can. The coffee was OK but the milk was scorched and the tea was not much better. There is so much potential here, they just need to step up the catering a bit more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location. Poor experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Have been to this place 4-5 times and every time its the same: nice day at the beach, looking for some food for the family, think that its too far to go to island bay and that we'll give it one last chance...and end up disappointed with both the service and the food. You've got great potential guys get onto it!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Very very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went to the bach on Wellington's south coast for Fathers Day Brunch. With all the cars outside we thought the place would be packed but surprise it was only half full. We did note a reviewed on Trip Advisor sticker on the door though. We thought the blackboard menu very average , similarly the quality of the food. It is not a place we would rush back to. The best part of the experience was the speed in which the food came out. Very basuic and not a lot of thought into the preparation. Coffee was mediocre as well

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“worst pancakes ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Took my daughter and our exchange student for brunch on the weekend. Ordered berry pancakes for myself. What came out were 3 obviously instant pancakes in a shallow bowl that was full to the brim with maple syrup (artificial). The bottom pancake was actually submerged in maple syrup. However the worst part was the berries - FIVE limp stewed or thawed boysenberries only. No cream, no yoghurt, nothing else.
After stewing on this for a while I went to the counter to ask for more berries. When I said that five berries was basically just a garnish, the counter person agreed. No further berries were forthcoming.
I'm a fan of berry pancakes and I know when they are done right. This was by far the worst ever, and exacerbated by the total lack of willingness on the part of the cafe to rectify the problem.
The sad part is that this has consistently been my experience every time, and each time I vow will be the last. It was only because it was a sunny day and we live around the corner and I thought our exchange student might enjoy the walk and the scenery. But this place could do SO much better. They seem to take no pride in their food or their service.
If you want to eat badly but enjoy a view, go to the bach. But if you want great food and service there are many better places to choose, some quite close by.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“something special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great cafe on the south shoreline of Wellington.
On a sunny day this small cafe is packed with people but still worth all the wait ...
Awesome views by enjoying either just a coffee or some delicious food

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bach also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Bach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.