We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar

Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar
25-29 Taranaki St, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
+64 4 3856650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 631 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a groupon voucher so we had a set of tapas and pizza that were part of the deal. Absolutely loved the tapas, lots of flavour, fresh, tasty, we were really impressed. Pizza was wood fried, very lovely as well. Staff were friendly and attentive. Nice ambience. Nice and warm next to fire place, perfect way to spend your evening!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    43
    23
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I recommend the spicy sausage pizza. Delicious. But there is more to the menu than just pizza. Others in our group had the lamb and pork. Equally delicious. Staff are fantastic - really friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A great place for a pre theatre dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

A girls night out – dinner & a show. We chose Zibibbo because it was close to the Opera House and our previous experiences at Zibibbo were fantastic. We both ordered the fish which was a large piece of tarakihi, we added a side order of roasted beetroot. Both dishes were superb and more than adequate. To finish we shared a piece of pecan pie which was divine. Drinks and food were all reasonably priced, service was overly attentive but this may have been because of the pre-theatre rush. Well done Zibibbo for continuing to offer excellent food in a great venue. A great location for any occasion but especially if you are heading to a show in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Perfect pork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Dining here last night was a lovely experience. This restaurant takes bookings which is always a bonus.

We arrived at 7pm and were seated straight away. We could smell a yummy bacon smell as we made our way up the stairs to the restaurant. This would turn out to be the special of the night which was rotisserie pork.

The service was fantastic. Our waiter was very attentive and apologised for the slow service of drinks which seemed to be caused by a problem at the bar downstairs. I don't think this would be typical.

We shared a tapas platter for two. I really enjoyed this platter, but my partner was not a fan as it had lots of pates, olives and mushrooms. If you don't like those foods I would stay away from the platter.

Our main was overwhelming in size. I think it may have been a pork knuckle. It was absolutely huge and was served with a lovely artichoke sauce. The pork was perfectly cooked with delicious crackling. The pork was the special of the night and these specials change from night to night.

Unfortunately we were way too full to have dessert. We did however see the dessert tapas at the table next to us. The dessert tapas looked very impressive and next time we would skip on the entree so we could have dessert.

The kitchen is open here so you can have a look right in. This is a lovely place to dine especially on a cold winters night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delighted to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

After two excellent dinners at Zibibbo in the last month, I was delighted to return after moving away from Wellington. The shared tapas platters were beautifully presented, the food was interesting, varied enbough to cover a range of preferences and simply delicious. The items were different on the two visits, and easily shared. The pork belly main was memorable, and the service attentive. Thge restauirant can get a little noisy but it's not alone in that.

My latest visit was after a concert, arriving about 9pm and not wanting anything too substantial. Three of us shared a tapas platter and then a dessert platter (officially for two, but augmented to avoid squabbles over the outstanding coffee macarons), and it was perfect. A very enjoyable evening, thank you to the Zibibbo team.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.