We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most refined food we had in NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar

Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar
25-29 Taranaki St, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
+64 4 3856650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $20 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Antwerpen, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“most refined food we had in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We went in just on the basis of the menu which looked different from the 99% of restaurants in NZ. It was no mistake. The food was as good as if not better than what the menu let us expect. It could easily be compared to better French restaurant. A Michelin star would be in order.
The service matched the food. Swift and friendly plus an excellent advise on the wine to accompany the food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    35
    23
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Central city style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Lovely food, great service and relaxing atmosphere where you don't have to shout to be heard over the music. The tapas platter is always fantastic, and the pre-theatre menu is a great value way of getting a lovely dinner and still making it to the performance without rushing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Had there signature tapas tasting board with nine different tap's and breads for $36. A gastronomical delight with a bit of everything. Great atmosphere and friendly staff.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, excellent food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We have been at Zibibbo's for NYE diner and I have read the comments on the service, so I was curious how it actually turns out. We habe a complaint about our lamp beeing cold, but this was handled in an extreemly professional manner. The food was wunderfull, the service attentive and very polite. Don't understand why this place is only #53 in TA.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Did not live up to it's reputation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The food did live up to it's reputation, wine list and service are both good. I would not go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zibibbo Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.