We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food at great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rasa Malaysian & South Indian Restaurant

Rasa Malaysian & South Indian Restaurant
200 Cuba St, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
(04) 384 7088
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 652 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Indian, Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stumbled across Rasa and were lucky enough to get a table. At around 30 seats, the restaurant is very busy with diners coming and going constantly. Great ambiance, and although a small restaurant, the tables are far enough apart to keep conversations personal. Varied menu with both Indian and Malaysian choices. My dosai was absolutely yummy, still thinking about it now! The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food arrives quite quickly and tastes out of this world. We will return whenever we're in Wellington.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fish curry must try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Went here again and I just want to say that their fish curry is a must try! It is sooo sooo flavourful and delicious. It is not your normal curry sauce type but I highly recommend it. Love this place for being so affordable yet the food doesn't taste cheap. Will always fo back :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant we've found in Wellington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We love Rasa's Indian food. Have only ever ordered as takeaway so can't comment on the sit down meal experience, but the food is always absolutely delicious. Recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Amazing amazing amazing. Great, great food, well priced and byo, cannot rave enough about this fab place to eat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Pure pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Absolutely great food with decent price. Friendly service despite the busy night and almost full place all the evening. Cozy laid-back atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasa Malaysian & South Indian Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Rasa Malaysian & South Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rasa Malaysian & South Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.