We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monsoon Poon

Monsoon Poon
12 Blair St, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
04 803 3555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 635 restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A vibrant atmosphere and an innovative design concept, Monsoon Poon offers choices from the exotic flavours of India, South China, Vietnam, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia and Indonesia - all on one menu.A mix of South East Asian chefs wield their tools of trade in full view of the dining room. Booths and large tables make for an intimate or sociable dining experience, where the wide range of cooking styles can be enjoyed by sharing dishes.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Busy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We eat here a few times a year - best before movie/theatre as it gets very busy later on and they don't take bookings. We have waiting in the bar for an hour later in the evening. The menu is varied enough to suit the whole family. Service is good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    97
    63
    22
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We hadn't been to Monsoon Poon for a number of years. Honestly, there are much better Malaysian themed places around such as Little Penang and Pandan. That said, we couldn't complain on our return. The service was top notch. Even though there were no tables, we waited in the bar with delicious cocktails and got a tabell in 20 minutes. The food was 3/5, but the atmosphere and excellent service made up for it. The fire-cracker chicken is a highlight, but only if you can take deathly chili - be warned.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expected More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Second night in Wellington, had tried Monsoon Poon in auckland so gave it a go. After eating at Dragonfly the night befor ei am afraid monsoon poon came up short. Very friendly staff, effcient angaging and happy which was great, had a couple of cocktails whcih were good. Starters were good, however both mains disappointed 25 spice lamb tasted of tomato gravey and my wifes noodles were average. Perhaps if we came here without trying Dragon fly the night before we would of been happy, but left feeling let down we expected more, staff and Value made it an acceptable night, but left wishing we had gone back to dragon fly

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Quirky, Busy and Cool.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Leaving the hotel the night manager asked where are we going to dine tonight, we had no idea. He asked what we like and this was followed by a suggestion to go to Monsoon Poon. So with no booking we tried our luck, it was around 7:45pm so definitely pushing our luck. As you go in you see trinkets all over the place, mixture of Thai, Chinese and Indian stuff, the bar is then on your right, we spoke to lad and yes table will be about 20 minutes. From the bar we could see this place was packed, every table had happy feeding, laughing , talking people at them. The place has got a great vibe, you can see the kitchen is one of those open types, the staff cooking and creating all had smiles on them, they were enjoying the night as well.
So to the food , truly superb, we had three entrees prawns, squid and sliders we could have eaten more of them they were so nice. I wanted the 25 spice curry but we had Indian for lunch so I opted for the Chicken firecracker this was three breasts of chicken rolled in Chilli paste and pan fried, it was very hot, sticky like chilli jam, we had their fried rice which was not as we know it but was ok. Karen had Beef Randang and I reckon that could have fed both of us, there was so much soft pull apart beef it was the dish of the night, I tried to help her eat it ! But alas even beat me.
Go to it, I will be going every time I am in Wellington, definitely a highlight.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Last night in Wellywood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were recommended to go to Monsoon Poon by friends & they were right. It was fabulous. Admittedly we were there rather early due to having children with us, so we were seated straight away. The staff were very polite & attentive. The food arrived very quickly & was delicious. The bill was very reasonable for our family of 4 and we would certainly recommend visiting Monsoon Poon if you are in Wellington. Cheers

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Poon also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Monsoon Poon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monsoon Poon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.