We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful with amazing food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hummingbird

Hummingbird
22 Courtenay Pl, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
+64 8016336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 649 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, International, European, Spanish, Tapas, Bistro
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful with amazing food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Hummingbird definitely left a good impression on me. The food was superb, so beautiful and high quality, i have been raving about it ever since i had it almost a year ago. The wait staff were lovely and provided me and my family with everything we requested and needed. I am planning to go back very soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    45
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You must go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We came across this place looking for somewhere to eat. What a great night of good service, food and drink. From the beet root and goat cheese bruschetta, fish taco for starters, the mushroom parpadelle, pork chop with black pudding mash and roast potatoes with gravy......yum! The cheese board, the hazelnut Creme brûlée and the Hendricks high tea which had gin, lavender vermouth, Campari, grapefruit, elderflower and soda served in a large teapot with dry ice. Almost finished it. Will definetly come back when we visit Wellington again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good spot for cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've wanted to eat here for ages so on a recent weekend break we popped in for a cocktail. It was Friday night and many tables were booked for dinner but they happily settled us at an empty one and didn't make us feel rushed. There's a nice atmosphere but I didn't like the 2 stuffed birds (pheasants? definitely not hummingbirds) on the walls. They looked lost and out of place.
The cocktails, however, were outstanding. Between the 3 of us we tried the honey apricot sour (9/10: ideal summer lunchtime choice), the espresso flip (8/10: think warm chocolate, coffee and cream) and tall tale tincture (10/10 for its smoking arrival). We weren't going to eat but couldn't resist the crayfish and prawn sliders which were delicious (and no, they didn't spoil our dinner).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food & Cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place is great for cocktails and there yummy tapas. The atmosphere is fantastic......and the crayfish and prawn sliders are awesome. Great find!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great vibe, service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've been to Hummingbird before with friends mainly for a quite drink, I love the music they play. This time I had a meal it was lovely tasty a fish and seafood dish served with two toasted ciabatta slices to mop up the lovely juices. I got a side salad of rocket, pear and walnut it was a good size and tasty. Service is great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummingbird also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Hummingbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hummingbird, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.