We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Yam Cha” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Century Licensed Chinese Restaurant

Grand Century Licensed Chinese Restaurant
84 Tory St, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
(04) 801 8682
Improve this listing
Ranked #241 of 630 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Great Yam Cha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great place to have nicely prepared Yam Cha between 11am and 2pm. Nicely presented and reasonably priced. Steamed items are very delicious. If you are a weight-watcher, avoid deep fried stuff. Very nice and friendly staff who will explain to non Asian customers what the dishes are made from. Ideal place for families with children or for teenagers to have an enjoyable time.
Better to reserve on weekends, as this place is usually filled up with eager customers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    24
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not Even Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Took the family here for yum cha. Food was very bland, very basic and there wasn't much variety. Plenty of better options for yum cha in Wellington.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Our Regular Yum Cha in Wellington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Love this place, always have yum cha when we come into Wellington. Our favourites are prawn and chive dumplings, fried turnip cake, pork spare ribs, beef rice rolls... and the best is BEEF TENDON YUM !!! we don't really go for the deep fired things.. but occasionally the squid legs but make sure you can get them to hold off on the excessive sweet sauce being poured all over it! Like to finish with some sesame balls filled with red bean paste and some coconut jelly... quite nice together in fact. Terrible decor, but the beef tendon is so delicious I can forgive them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just average, there are better options in Wellington”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just a very average experience, long waits for a table and a longer wait to be served! The food was very average and I know there are better within a five minute walk, it's just flashy and a little crude, not my choice for Chinese in Wellington.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Review for Grand Century Chinese Restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Place is packed but was able to get a seat even without reservation. Staff are very friendly though parking is tough specially on a weekend. Restaurant is clean and ambiance is good. Food is very average and price was quite expensive I would considering that food is not very tasty. Fried foods are loaded with MSG which is a disappointment. Overall eating experience is average at most and I would not recommend the place to my friends or family.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Century Licensed Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Grand Century Licensed Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Century Licensed Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.