We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual evening dining at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Floriditas

Floriditas
161-163 Cuba Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
04 381 2212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 635 restaurants in Wellington
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Hastings, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Casual evening dining at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A trip to Wellington recently was the opportunity to try Floriditas in the evening. We'd called in for coffee/ drinks in the past and liked it, so thought we would try a meal. Couldn't book a table for tow on a Saturday night and so took our chances about 7.30pm. We were greeted warmly and quickly placed at a table though the restaurant was pretty full. Meal was served at a nice pace and food was excellent. The soup of the day was a highlight, so much so that on our trip home we were discussing they ingredients and flavours with a thought to trying to reproduce it at. I emailed Marc at Floriditas on the off chance they would share the recipe and had a friendly response and the recipe within a day. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    131
    101
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We regularly go to Floriditas and all I can say is it is consistently good. Staff are always friendly and the food excellent. Prices are mid range and it doesn't cost an arm and a leg for a nice night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing meal, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We eyed this restaurant several times when walking past. Friends told us about Matterhorn, so we decided we would do one on Sunday and one on Monday. After appalling service at Matterhorn, we opted out and came down to Floriditas straight away. The whole experience was far better than anywhere we had been. Friendly staff, great drinks, incredible terrine, fish and dessert of course. Attentive staff and a very interesting menu! Glad we ate here instead of wasting out money on the over-rated, over-priced restaurant down the road!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
2 reviews
“Expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We found this restaurant very expensive particularly as the food was not wonderful, quite bland in fact. The waiting service was fantastic but we could not see our menu as the room was dark. The Maitre d was rude. I would not reccommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Floriditas continues to deliver. Great coffee and outstanding food. Despite the wait for a table, the staff kept us hydrated and were very efficient. Best brunch ever.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Floriditas also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Floriditas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floriditas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.