We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi train!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catch Sushi bar

Catch Sushi bar
48 Courtney Place | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
(04) 801 9352
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #276 of 774 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sushi train!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I love sushi trains! We don't have one in our home town. Service girl was a bit abrupt, good kept coming and was yummy. A big lunch with two miso soups (we drank water) came to $34. I will return

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
wellington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

my family eat here very often, everyone in my family enjoyed to eat here. nice and fresh sushi.
price is a bit over, but the food is good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laziooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1st Sushi Train experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Being a novice with sushi trains, I recall taking ages to select my food of choice when I first visited Catch. But since then, I have taken a number of friends and family to share their 1st time at a sushi bar with me and we all keep going back for more. I love the soya beans and also request freshly cooked battered fish every time I arrive there. Thanks to my friend who introduced me to Catch. Pay it forward. Yum!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank bjandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Made Fresh with Great Variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is small place in the heart of Courtney Place, but don't let size fool you.

Catch Sushi is a magical place, transporting you to a place that is normally seen in downtown Tokyo. The catch of the day is proudly displayed on bamboo hangings beside the sushi chef as he and his team supply the train with imaginitive and tasty food.
You do not even need to be a seafood lover, there is even vegetarian options available.

Wash it down with some good Japanese beer or sake and maybe be tempted with the suprisingly delish.

Definetly worth checking out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Psyckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

such great food, really really tasty, lovely waitresses, good price, nice variety, i love how you can see the chefs cooking, and they almost always have space, just amazing!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch Sushi bar also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Catch Sushi bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing