We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kedgeree” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria

Astoria
159 Lambton Quay | Midland Park, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
(04) 473 8500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 630 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Perched on the edge of Midland Park, at the heart of Wellington’s shopping and business districts, Astoria offers a blend of grand European café culture and the quintessential bustle of Wellington city life. A celebrated atmosphere is fuelled by the café’s contribution to the popular park, particularly when the sun graces us with its presence.On colder days, loyal clientèle enjoy the cosy expanse of our vintage interior. The menu is inspired by seasonal produce, paired with coffee roasted on-site.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Kedgeree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a great kedgeree for breakfast here. It has hint of egg and sprinkle of coriander, with a smoked Scottish kipper on top. Lovely coffee too! It was a Saturday morning so wasn't crowded with office workers. Nice start to the day.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    37
    19
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

went to astoria for lunch today. It was busy and we had to wait ages to order as the girl taking orders was also making the coffee and doing other tasks at the same time. The panini was ok and hot but why were only giving one skimpy thin napkin for two people? My husband ordered a dish that needed a knife and fork too but none came with our orders and we were not told at the counter that we had to pick them up at the counter. I had a slice of raspberry and chocolate cake which I thought looked good but it was dry and not that tasty and came with over whipped cream All in all a disappointment. Nor do they give you glasses of water here. If I compare it with Prefab it is over priced and not good service

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Efficency at its finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I am a regular at Astoria cafe and I'm appalled to read all the complaints about waiting for coffee!
The baristas at Astoria are the most efficient in Wellington and you only ever wait a minute max for a coffee. Best place in Wellington for a quick coffee and a bite to eat, lovely staff and management also :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Appalling customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

the girl behind the counter was incredibly rude and didn't bother listening to the order. I then watched her mocking people for coming in for a coffee - they were more interested in closing up.

Symptomatic of other place around wellington when it comes to near closing time.

when will wellington business owners learn.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue D, Owner at Astoria, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Jeff

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologise for the rude service you recieved, this is clearly not the way we expect customers to be treated at Astoria, in fact we pride ourselves on providing friendly and efficient service. Keeping staff on-task until the end of service is something we are constantly having to keep on top of. We have spoken with the staff member you referred to in your review and passed on your feedback. She was very apologetic. Your visit to Astoria was during WOW which was an extremely busy two weeks for us. We are only disappointed that the 100's of customers that raved to us about the wonderful food, coffee and service during WOW didn't place reviews on this and other review sites, but that's the way of the world.

Regards

Sue Dempsey
Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good cafe but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Don't get me wrong, I like the Astoria. The coffee is good (they roast their own beans) and the food good, if not a little pricy. However, on a busy day (and it's a popular place so it's often busy) it is a challenge to navigate between tables to get to yours, and holding a conversation can be difficult with the noise level. But let's face it, we all like to be where the in-crowd is and they seem to like it here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astoria also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.