We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant where the owner literally shows off his backside to his customers!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arbitrageur Wine Room & Restaurant

Arbitrageur Wine Room & Restaurant
125 Featherston Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
04 499 5530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #261 of 697 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Moira, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A restaurant where the owner literally shows off his backside to his customers!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had wondered why this restaurant was only ranked 91 in Wellington. Well, now I know. We had visited the place before and had an agreeable meal. On trying it again, our experience was altogether different.
Firstly, we found the well lauded wine list very complicated and difficult to follow.
One of our entrees was crab and avocado in a wrap. If there was any crab in there it was difficult to find and almost impossible to taste. The calamari, however was well cooked and plentiful.
For the main course we ordered steak and pork belly.The steak was bland and one would expect a great deal better from a restaurant of this supposed quality.The pork belly was much better and was well cooked with interesting ingredients
However it was at this stage that the next table to us became occupied. It was an elevated table with high stools and occupied by a gentleman wearing hipster jeans which, when he sat down, revealed copious amounts of naked buttocks just a few feet from our faces. Totally unacceptable to allow such a person to occupy a table such as this in what was supposed to be a quality restaurant. When we expressed our disgust to the staff, the man was approached and he moved around to the other side of his table.However he was still looking down on us from his elevated position and it was quite impossible for us to continue our meal in such circumstances. We decided to get up and go and then discovered the astonishing truth, the person was the owner of the restaurant !!..! I am still speechless and will write no more.
.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    47
    26
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food! Definitely eat here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Located in a convenient spot in Wellington! The service was excellent! Waiter couldn't do enough for us! Had great knowledge of wine, which helped me! I drink it, can't recommend it :) Food was very nice. I definitely recommend the salmon! Atmosphere was quite as it is a small to medium place! Would recommend this place!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good central city venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Arbitrageur is a great restaurant/wine bar in the central city. It has a great wine list with many wines sold by the glass. The menu is tasty and offers small plates in addition to their restaurant menu. Good for business or catching up with friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For that special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you feel like being decadent and treating yourself for dinner, then you really can't go past Arbitrageur. The A La Carte menu is full of amazing French delights, last time I was there I had Pork Belly - which came which a seared prawn cutlet, and then a Marseille Fish Stew w/ fish du jour and a saffron sauce, absolutely amazing. Perfectly cooked, rich and so tasty! My partner had gnocchi, which came with a Pecorino Sauce, and then herb encrusted Salmon, both of which were also delicious.

You have to try the wine menu here, with so much to choose it's astonishing, and waiters who know their stuff, allowing you to match your food perfectly. While it isn't the cheapest place in the city, you pay for what you get, which is absolute quality.

I recommend it for two people, although a group of four would also be OK. Next time you feel like treating your wife or girlfriend, then this is a great choice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent wine list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Well known about wine enthusiasts, Arbitrageur is long-established and continues to deserve its reputation for carefully prepared dishes made with fresh, local ingredients and a very interesting wine list featuring New Zealand and European wines. I loved it in 2010 and I loved it again in January 2013.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arbitrageur Wine Room & Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Arbitrageur Wine Room & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbitrageur Wine Room & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.