We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine, solid service, tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arbitrageur Wine Room & Restaurant

Arbitrageur Wine Room & Restaurant
125 Featherston Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
04 499 5530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 631 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great wine, solid service, tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Had a great bottle of Burgundy Pinot Noir, the food was quite nice albeit the Pork was very rich. Service did everything they needed to do.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    47
    26
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were disappointed in the service or lack of it we received. A Friday night ,not overly busy, we were seated and then were forgotten about!!We sat for 10 minutes before I said to my husband 'Maybe we should flag someone down to ask for the wine list and some water'. He did this , we got the list and then were told where the toilets where!!IMmm not sure why they would want to tell us that? We were then left again, came back to us with a one little carafe of water which quarter filled two glasses! We proceeded to order our mains, while waiting they brought us a tiny plate of dry bread with nothing else!unusual, hard bread,no butter ? Our main were very nice, I had pork,wonderful!my husband had the lamb mousakka, found a clump of tin foil in the middle of it. Told the waitress, who said Ohh and walked away. Pretty much fed up with the service we decided to leave. The waitress apologise then for the foil and offered coffees and then chocolates , we were paying the bill so declined. So you can see the disappointment when the prices you are paying are at the higher end.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice enough.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

In Wellington for another long weekend, so thought we would try Arbitrageur.

I had the calamari for an entree and my wife had the Salmon Blini's. Both were nice enough, although the Calamari was more like something you would find in a pub.

I had the pork belly for my main, and my wife had a beef dish. Both were well cooked and satisfying. I would agree with the reviewer that suggested the menu was quite limited though.

The service was ok, friendly enough but a little slow and without the flair and substance of some other eateries in Wellington.

Ther decor is nice and the restaurant had a very pleasant atmosphere.

The wine list impressed with it's size, although it lacked some of the gems found at Ambelis or Logan Brown.

Overall, we were a little underwhelmed, nothing major to complain about, but for 200 odd dollars, I wouldn't consider it excellent value for money. Gastro pub comes to mind when looking for a description, certainly not fine dinning. And if that's what you are looking for, then you will enjoy it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

A weeknight ( Tues) ....good crowd. Very limited menu. Very French portions (don't come for a big feed). We figured this out from the descriptions we had read but many men will find 3 potato wedges with their steak,a joke. Moussaka interesting option in a French bistro ....it was very nice. Lady wine sommelier very knowledgeable re Chablis ....found 22 dollars for a 150 ml glass of Taittenger a bit pricey. It did not look like one fifth of a bottle! I probably would go back at a weekend for people watching and a big night out ....... It seems like there are a bunch of regulars who are treated royally and that is fine! It happens everywhere.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“disappointing experience for newly crowned best cosmopolitan dining award”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Went to Arbitrageur because of the latest Cuisine magazine award. Our waitress failed to inform us what either was/or was not on menu or what specials there may have been for that evening. She consistently gave us the wrong meal everytime she approached our table.... was not a very good start. The food itself was quite pleasant with nice flavours but lacked that extra special zing that would have made it more memorable.
Not intending to go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arbitrageur Wine Room & Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Arbitrageur Wine Room & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbitrageur Wine Room & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.