We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value And Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Motel to your Saves list
Airport Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   142 Tirangi Road | Rongatai, Wellington 6022, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Value And Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here before an early morning flight to Auckland for connection to Rarotonga. Literally just accross the road from the airport so a good option for those having to catch the early morning flights to Australia from Wellington.

Rooms are tidy and reasonably proportioned, and in the immediate are service station, chinese restaurant, and Burger King. For the price i think this is a good option, and David down at the front desk was friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
19
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lower North Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Airport Motel is a great place to stay if you are flying out of or into Wellington. They have under cover storage for your car & there is a free shuttle bus to & from the airport. Meals can also be arranged. Very clean & comfortable. We are using their facilities again in a few weeks time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipoh
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel itself serves the purpose of its name. Located near the airport (duh), there is a complimentary shuttle to and fro quite often. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment which was located upstairs and it had a view facing the sea. The rooms itself were cool enough and had good ventilation from the sea breeze. The beds were ok, not the best but functional. It has a nice bathroom with a jacuzzi and a cooker hood with almost all kitchen utensils and tableware.

The front desk manager herself was awesome. She had help us load our luggage on to the shuttle and drove us there herself! Now that is great service since we had an early flight to catch.

We thank you very much and hope to stay there again if we have an early flight. To sum it up, this hotel has good value, great service and good rooms for a nights stay.

Room Tip: Get one on the 1st floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This motel is only a couple mintues drive from Wellington airport, the motel provides free airport shuttle till 1-2am. I called on arrival, a mini van came to pick me up within about a few mintues with a friendly staff, great service! This motel is the ideal for you to stay over night to catch up the flight ealry morning or late night.
The room is very clean, but small sized studio, there is no air condition but a build-in heater in the room, warm enough for the winter. The studio I stayed is right in front of occean, very noise on a windy day, I can hear loud noise from wind ALL NIGHT LONG. If you want a decent sleep, stay away from this motel. This motel is not near any shops or resturants. Taxi to Wellington CBD costs $35 one way in rush hour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as it was very close to a wedding venue and was there 3 nights. The motel is perfect for a one night stay if you don't have to unpack bags and are catching a flight early morning/ late night etc. As a motel for people wanting to stay in Wellington NO WAY. There are no restaurants, supermarkets, shops etc in walking distance. It is a motel for people getting off a plane and having a bed to crash. Very clean motel and lovely people running it. There is no mini bar in the room or snacks etc so as you are in the middle of nowhere- bring your own food. This is a motel for people getting off a plane and snatching a few hours sleep before catching the next plane. If you want a few days in Wellington don't stay here. You can get a better experience in the hotels in central Wellington for the same money.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We booked this through the 'agents' instead of doing the right thing and booking direct.Only an idiot can complain about the travellers studio units. We stayed in a studio for 6 nights even though Jenny contacted us with reservations about the size. We had no problems with the area. A very large bathroom area. good facilities and comfortable bedding. Okay no Wardrobe - so what? This is an overnighter for travellers not a luxury suite. If you want more then book it - Jenny will advise. 'Noisy' - rubbish, we heard very little evidence of being close to the airport. I think the Aussie who compleined must have stayed at another Airport motel.
All in all extremely good value for money, helpful staff and we recommend this stop over to all. Eric and Margaret Mannning

Room Tip: Contact direct and let Jenny know what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location is not entirely convenient, in an industrial area on a bay and our room was one of the smallest we have ever had, with the bed within 6 inches of the wall on one side and with only about 4 feet on the other, partly taken up by a sink, counter, and cabinets. There are larger units, some of which we looked into later, which would have been more comfortable, and we would recommend those if you want to stay here. On the other hand, the hosts were very accommodating, helped with directions, provided breakfasts for a modest charge, and pickup from the airport which was nearby. We would recommend it with reservations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Motel

Address: 142 Tirangi Road | Rongatai, Wellington 6022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conference Space and Long term Car Storage Available description = Wellingtons BEST VALUE and NEWEST Airport Motel Closest Motel to Wellington Airport "The Airport Motel" offers a Top Beach front Location with stunning views across Cook Strait. Spend some time exploring Wellingtons Newest Mega Shopping Center and Cafe's located just across the road or Just take some time to Relax and Enjoy the Magnificent Views from one of our Luxurious Double Spa Bath Units. *** FREE AIRPORT SHUTTLE SERVICE (7:30am till 2:00am) *** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Kilbirnie
Airport Motel Wellington
Airport Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.